Common Be

151 ratings
Only 8 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $7.79 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $1.20 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  AG9R
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Geffen Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - No. 975, p.70
4 stars out of 5 - "[H]is sixth and best disc....[Kanye] West is the producer Common has been waiting for all of his career: He makes Common both catchier and edgier at the same time..."
Spin - p.63
Ranked #17 in Spin's "40 Best Albums Of 2005" - "Bathed in throwback soul and lively drums, Common suddenly sounded like the seer he'd always hoped he was."
Spin - p.102
"[With] '70s-soul string samples, store-front-church piano tinkling, chipmunk gospel vocal hooks....Common's remarkably hungry raps push it along." - Grade: A-
Entertainment Weekly - No. 821/822, p.136
"[T]he marriage of [Common's] conscious rhymes to [Kanye] West's gritty, boho-inflected production boasts more organic freshness than a Whole Foods Market..." - Grade: A-
Uncut - p.97
4 stars out of 5 - "[The record] offers a rich jukebox of gospel-tinged R&B flavours over which Common scatters his gems."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.112
4 stars out of 5 - "BE succeeds through its sense of focus and poignancy."
Paste (magazine) - "The soul and jazz-loop landscapes the producers set Common against highlight his classic, laidback flow..."


  • Buy for $1.291.Be (Intro)
  • Buy for $1.292.Corner, The - (featuring The Last Poets)
  • Buy for $1.293.Go! - (featuring John Mayer)
  • Buy for $1.294.Faithful
  • Buy for $1.295.Testify
  • Buy for $0.996.Love Is...
  • Buy for $0.997.Chi-City
  • Buy for $1.298.Food, The - (live)
  • Buy for $0.999.Real People
  • Buy for $1.2910.They Say - (featuring Kanye West / John Legend)
  • Buy for $0.9911.It's Your World (Part 1&2) - (featuring Bilal)

Product Description:

Personnel: Common (rap vocals); The Last Poets (spoken vocals); James Poyser (various instruments); Derrick Hodge (double bass); Num Amun-Tehu (percussion); A-Trak, DJ Dummy (turntables); John Legend, John Mayer , Kanye West , Lonnie Lynn, Bilal, Luna E (background vocals).
After fusing hip-hop, rock, and soul on 2002's THE ELECTRIC CIRCUS, Chicago rapper Common returned three years later with BE. Like its two-letter title, BE is much leaner, consisting of 11 pure hip-hop tracks marked by Common's enlightened, contemplative, easy-flowing lyrics. Although the album is more streamlined, it's not predictable or unoriginal, as the beats unfold with the same combination of rawness and melodic energy that made Kanye West's debut so uncommonly engaging. This is no coincidence--West is present throughout much of BE, producing all but two of the songs here. West even appears on one of the disc's highlights, "The Food," with some expert freestyle rhyming as captured live on CHAPPELLE'S SHOW.
Common's confident, yet constantly searching, demeanor and his poetic instinct for just the right words bonds him to the heritage of hip-hop, a point hit home by the presence of rap legends the Last Poets on "The Corner." Common is always slightly and endearingly unsure, and his self-deprecation seeps out on "Love Is..." and "Faithful." However, he has the inner power to garner attention, as evident on the smooth party jam "GO!" (featuring John Mayer). BE is Common at his unaffected, commanding best.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 151 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Common

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 102,588
  • UPC: 602498818626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)