The Andrews Sisters Golden Age of the Andrew Sisters (4-CD)

Golden Age of the Andrew Sisters (4-CD)
12 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $30.59
List Price: $33.99
You Save: $3.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  AG9A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: November 22, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Jasmine Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bei Mir Bist du Shon
  • 2.Tu-Li-Tulip Time
  • 3.Lullaby to a Little Jitterbug
  • 4.Hold Tight, Hold Tight
  • 5.The Beer Barrel Polka
  • 6.Well, All Right
  • 7.Yodelin' Jive
  • 8.Say Si Si
  • 9.The Woodpecker Song
  • 10.Ferryboat Serenade
  • 11.Beat Me Daddy, Eight to the Bar
  • 12.Scrub Me Mama, With a Boogie Beat
  • 13.Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy
  • 14.I'll Be with You in Apple Blossom Time
  • 15.Aurora
  • 16.The Shrine of St. Cecilia
  • 17.Three Little Sisters
  • 18.Strip Polka
  • 19.Pistol Packin' Mama
  • 20.Victory Polka
  • 21.Shoo-Shoo Baby
  • 22.Straighten Up and Fly Right
  • 23.Is You Is, Or Is You Ain't Ma Baby?
  • 24.(There'll Be A) Hot Time in the Town of Berlin
  • 25.Don't Fence Me In

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rum and Coca-Cola
  • 2.Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive
  • 3.The Three Caballeros
  • 4.Along the Navajo Trail
  • 5.The Blond Sailor
  • 6.Money Is the Root of All Evil
  • 7.South America Take It Away
  • 8.Rumours Are Flying
  • 9.Christmas Island
  • 10.Tallahassee
  • 11.Near You
  • 12.The Lady from 29 Palms
  • 13.Civilisation - Bongo, Bongo, Bongo
  • 14.Toolie Oolie Doolie
  • 15.Underneath the Arches
  • 16.You Call Everybody Darling
  • 17.I Can Dream, Can't I?
  • 18.Quicksilver
  • 19.I Wanna Be Loved
  • 20.Sparrow in the Treetop
  • 21.Rhumboogie
  • 22.I Yi, Yi, Yi, Yi (I Like You Very Much)
  • 23.Chico's Love Song
  • 24.Jealous
  • 25.Says My Heart

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Tuxedo Junction
  • 2.Lily Belle
  • 3.Tica-Ti, Tica-Ta
  • 4.Zoot Suit, A (For My Sunday Gal)
  • 5.You're a Lucky Fellow, Mr. Smith'
  • 6.Stars Are the Windows of Heaven
  • 7.Parade of the Wooden Soldiers
  • 8.Jing-A-Ling, Jing-A-Ling
  • 9.Rancho Pillow
  • 10.Hohokus, N.J.
  • 11.Beatin', Bangin', 'N Scratchin'
  • 12.Jack of All Trades
  • 13.Atlanta, G.A.
  • 14.Coax Me a Little Bit
  • 15.There'll Be a Jubilee
  • 16.Put 'Em in a Box, Tie 'Em with a Ribbon
  • 17.Avocado
  • 18.I'm Gonna Paper My Walls with Your Love Letters
  • 19.I've Just Got to Get out of the Habit
  • 20.Yipsee-I-O
  • 21.Underneath the Linden Tree
  • 22.I Didn't Know the Gun Was Loaded
  • 23.Hurry! Hurry! Hurry!
  • 24.Pack Up Your Troubles
  • 25.How Many Times?

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Run, Run, Run
  • 2.Great Day
  • 3.Them That Has, Gets
  • 4.Old Don Juan
  • 5.The Money Song
  • 6.For All We Know
  • 7.Clancy Lowered the Boom!
  • 8.Satins and Lace
  • 9.Don't Blame Me
  • 10.A Man Is Brother to a Mule
  • 11.What Did I Do?
  • 12.Guys and Dolls
  • 13.The Mambo Man
  • 14.I'll Pray for You
  • 15.Sing, Sing, Sing
  • 16.Piccolo Pete
  • 17.How Lucky You Are
  • 18.Lying in the Hay
  • 19.The Windmill Song
  • 20.The Bride and Groom Polka
  • 21.East of the Sun
  • 22.Wunderbar
  • 23.The Wedding of Lilli Marlene
  • 24.Zing Zing, Zoom Zoom
  • 25.Six Jerks in a Jeep
  • 26.Don't Sit Under the Apple Tree (With Anyone Else But Me)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Laverne Andrews, Maxene Andrews, Patty Andrews, Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Dick Haymes.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Contains 110 tracks.
Since the 50-year limit on copyrights in Europe has led to a flurry of Andrews Sisters releases beginning in the early '90s, it's worth pointing out that the British Jasmine label is not just another fly-by-night outfit cobbling together a bunch of old 78s. The four-disc Golden Age of the Andrews Sisters, with a running time of more than four-and-three-quarters hours, contains more tracks -- 101 -- than any previously released Andrews Sisters compilation. The sound quality is good, if not as good as the legitimate American reissues on MCA, and the 12-page CD booklet contains basic annotations. That said, the selection is somewhat eccentric. Essentially, this is a "the best and the rest" collection: the first two discs contain all of the Andrews Sisters' Top Ten hits, as ranked in Joel Whitburn's book of chart reconstructions, Pop Memories. For the most part, they are in chronological order, though a handful of tracks that reached numbers ten through 12 are bunched at the end. Discs three and four contain another three chart entries among their 51 tracks, but otherwise ignore the 60 additional Andrews Sisters recordings listed in Whitburn that peaked between numbers 12 and 30 in favor of utterly obscure material; B-sides and records that never sold well enough to earn a chart ranking. This hits-and-misses approach leaves out lots of good and well-remembered Andrews Sisters recordings. It also makes room for some interesting ones, including the sisters' versions of the show tunes "Guys and Dolls" and "Wunderbar" and the swing standard "Sing, Sing, Sing," plus two performances from the soundtrack to Private Buckaroo. (Of course, keeping to the 50-year limit, none of their recordings from after 1951 are included.) This not the ideal Andrews Sisters compilation, but it is far more extensive than any their American copyright holders have produced. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Andrews Sisters

Product Info

  • UPC: 604988030624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.47/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)