The Cadillacs The Complete Josie Sessions (4-CD Box Set)

The Complete Josie Sessions (4-CD Box Set)
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $112.49
SUPER SAVINGS: $78.46 Limited Time Only
List Price: $124.99
You Save: $46.53 (37% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  33869
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: April 17, 1995
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Gloria
  • 2.I Wonder Why
  • 3.Wishing Well
  • 4.Carelessly
  • 5.I Want to Know About Love
  • 6.No Chance
  • 7.No Chance - (alternate take)
  • 8.Sympathy
  • 9.Sympathy - (alternate take)
  • 10.Party For Two - (alternate take)
  • 11.Party For Two
  • 12.Corn Whiskey
  • 13.Down the Road
  • 14.Window Lady - (alternate take)
  • 15.Window Lady
  • 16.Speedoo - (alternate take)
  • 17.Speedoo
  • 18.Zoom Boom Zing
  • 19.Let Me Explain - (alternate take)
  • 20.Let Me Explain
  • 21.You Are (Version 1)
  • 22.Zoom (Version 3)
  • 23.Zoom (Version 3) - (alternate take)
  • 24.Oh! Whatcha Do
  • 25.Shock-a-Doo

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Shock-a-Doo
  • 2.Zoom (Version 2)
  • 3.Zoom (Version 1)
  • 4.You Are (Version 2)
  • 5.Why
  • 6.Why - (alternate take)
  • 7.All I Need, (That's) - (alternate take)
  • 8.All I Need, (That's)
  • 9.Baby's Comin Home to Me
  • 10.Baby's Comin Home to Me - (alternate take)
  • 11.Girl I Love, The - (alternate take)
  • 12.The Girl I Love
  • 13.Betty My Love - (alternate take)
  • 14.Betty My Love
  • 15.Woe Is Me - (alternate take)
  • 16.Woe Is Me
  • 17.Rudolph, The Red Nosed Reindeer - (alternate take)
  • 18.Rudolph, The Red Nosed Reindeer
  • 19.Don't Take Your Love From Me
  • 20.If You Want to Be a Woman of Mine
  • 21.About That Gal Named Lou - (alternate take)
  • 22.About That Gal Named Lou
  • 23.Sugar Sugar - (alternate take)
  • 24.Sugar Sugar
  • 25.Broken Heart

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.C'Mon Home Baby
  • 2.Hurry Home
  • 3.Lucy
  • 4.From This Day On
  • 5.My Girlfriend
  • 6.My Girlfriend (Undubbed)
  • 7.Don't Be Mad With My Heart
  • 8.Buzz Buzz Buzz
  • 9.Yea Yea Baby
  • 10.Holy Smoke Baby
  • 11.I Want to Know
  • 12.Ain't You Gonna
  • 13.It's Spring
  • 14.Speedoo Is Back - (alternate take)
  • 15.Speedoo Is Back
  • 16.A'Looka Here
  • 17.Great Googly Moo
  • 18.Copy Cat
  • 19.Oh, Oh, Lolita
  • 20.Peek-a-Boo
  • 21.Jelly Bean
  • 22.Please Mr. Johnson - (alternate take)
  • 23.Please Mr. Johnson
  • 24.Your Heart Is So Blind (Take 1) - (Take 1)
  • 25.Your Heart Is So Blind (Take 4) - (Take 4)
  • 26.Cool It Fool - (alternate take)
  • 27.Cool It Fool

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Jay Walker
  • 2.Who Ya Gonna Kiss
  • 3.The Vow
  • 4.Naggity Nag
  • 5.You're Not in Love With Me
  • 6.Bad Dan McGoon
  • 7.Romeo
  • 8.Romeo - (alternate take)
  • 9.Always, My Darling - (alternate take)
  • 10.Always, My Darling
  • 11.Dumbell
  • 12.Still You Left Me Baby
  • 13.Dum Dee Dum Dum
  • 14.Dum Dee Dum Dum - (alternate take)
  • 15.Frankenstein
  • 16.I Want to Be Loved
  • 17.I'm in Love
  • 18.Tell Me Today - (alternate take)
  • 19.Tell Me Today
  • 20.Let Me Down Easy
  • 21.It's Love
  • 22.That's Why
  • 23.Louise
  • 24.Rock 'N' Roll Is Here to Stay
  • 25.The Boogie Man
  • 26.I'll Never Let You Go
  • 27.Wayward Wanderer

Product Description:

This box is really the CD descendant of Murray Hill Records' early-'80s-era LP set, which included lots of outtakes. It seems like complete and absolute overkill to put out four CDs on a vocal quintet that only ever charted two songs ("Speedoo," "Peek-A-Boo") nationally, and, works. But, if you like '50s R&B, doo wop music, or generally just good singing, there's so much here to listen to that will delight you that the package suddenly seems reasonable. The Cadillacs' secret was the sheer variety of their music -- they started out working in a slow romantic vein, and eventually hit it big with one of the fastest-rocking vocal numbers of the period, but they also sang blues (with solid backing, including some fine guitar work) like "(That's) All I Need." Their last sides are still finely sung, but aren't romantic -- rather, they began moving toward comedic and satiric pieces such as "Please Mr. Johnson" and "Jaywalker." The diversity is entertaining in itself, and the only real objection that one could have is the presence of different versions of the same songs. Even these are very interesting, such as the slower alternate version of "Speedoo," which would never have been a hit but does reveal more about the song itself. The sessionography is also a big help in sorting out precisely who was in the group at any given moment after their early sides. ~ Bruce Eder
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Cadillacs

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 57,399
  • UPC: 4000127156488
  • Shipping Weight: 1.94/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)