Johnny Copeland Working Man's Blues

Working Man's Blues
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  G396
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: December 14, 1999
  • Label: Aim Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - 6/03, pp.110-1
"...WORKING MAN'S BLUES is an indispensable collection, one that captures Copeland's early career - and the history of Houston's Third Ward scene - down to the last detail..."


  • 1.Daily Bread
  • 2.Drinking New York City Dry
  • 3.Wella Wella Baby
  • 4.Down on Bended Knee
  • 5.Just One More Time
  • 6.Let Me Cry
  • 7.Night Time Is the Right Time, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 8.Working Man's Blues
  • 9.Rock Me Baby
  • 10.All These Things
  • 11.Ghetto Child
  • 12.Heebie Jeebies
  • 13.I Need You Now
  • 14.Late Hours
  • 15.May the Best Man Win
  • 16.Please Let Me Know
  • 17.Remus
  • 18.It Must Be Love
  • 19.Traveling Man

Product Description:

Contains 19 tracks.
Liner Note Author: Bo Svensson.
A collection of good old Texas electric blues tracks mostly recorded by Johnny Copeland in the early '60s through the mid-'70s, between his first flush of youth and his Rounder Records-sponsored artistic renaissance, Working Man Blues is a portrait of an undeniably talented electric guitarist and singer floundering a bit in terms of career direction. As a result, this 19-track compilation is filled with nuggets of prime electric blues, but they range from workmanlike renditions of Ray Charles standards ("Night Time Pts. 1 & 2") to Atlantic Records-style early rock & roll ("Hear What I Said") to slinky Albert King-style workouts ("Your Game Is Working"). It's a bit all over the map, but there are surprisingly few duff tracks, and no stylistic experiments that simply don't work, … la Surfin' With Bo Diddley. This is a fine introduction to an oft-overlooked period in Johnny Copeland's career. ~ Stewart Mason

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Copeland

Product Info

  • UPC: 752211130327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)