Ted Heath Listen to My Music, Volume 3: 1947-48

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Only 4 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HEP 61

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 1999
  • Label: Hep Records


  • 1.Turn on the Heath
  • 2.Feudin' and Fightin'
  • 3.A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square
  • 4.Sequin
  • 5.Chelsea
  • 6.Whitechapel
  • 7.Limehouse
  • 8.Bond Street
  • 9.Piccadilly
  • 10.Soho
  • 11.Big Ben Bounce
  • 12.Deep Forest
  • 13.Pagan Love Song
  • 14.Dark Eyes
  • 15.You Go to My Head
  • 16.What Did I Do?
  • 17.Harlem Nocturne
  • 18.Swanee River
  • 19.Song of the Vagabonds
  • 20.Two Guitars
  • 21.Hindustan
  • 22.You're Nearer
  • 23.Old Man Rebop
  • 24.Red Flush
  • 25.One Bass Hit
  • 26.Auld Lang Syne

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ted Heath; Paul Carpenter, Lydia McDonald, Annie Shelton (vocals); Jackie Armstrong, Kenny Baker, Johnnie Gray, Tommy Whittle, Jack Parnell.
Personnel: Anne Shelton (vocals); Dave Goldberg , Pete Chilver (guitar); Dave Shand (clarinet, baritone saxophone); Les Gilbert (alto saxophone); Jack Parnell (tenor saxophone, drums); Tommy Whittle (tenor saxophone); Robert Burns (baritone saxophone); Stan Reynolds, Cliff Haines, Dave Wilkins, Stanley Roderick, Harry Hall, Kenny Baker (trumpet); Jackie Armstrong, Harry Roche, Jack Bentley, Jimmy Coombes, Maurice Pratt (trombone); David Simpson , Norman Stenfalt (piano).
Audio Remixer: Ted Kendall.
Recording information: London, England (04/21/1947-12/16/1948).
Director: Ted Heath.
Arrangers: Norman Stenfalt; Kenny Baker .
One of at least seven Ted Heath compilations sharing the title Listen to My Music, this third volume in the Hep label's intensive Ted Heath reissue series contains British big-band swing recordings made between April 21, 1947 and December 16, 1948. Heath successfully navigated the stylistic riptides of swing and bop, his well-oiled ensemble always sounding fresh and contemporary yet snugly rooted in the tradition of accessible jazz and dance music. The repertoire on this disc includes Fats Waller's "London Suite" (a marvelous work revisited by Heath in 1954), old time melodies by Stephen Foster and Rudolf Friml, a visitation from Robert Burns, and an assortment of melodies traceable to Tin Pan Alley, Dixieland, mainstream jazz and bebop. The odd tune out is an unpleasant attempt at "Feudin' and Fightin'," a gruesome novelty tune that was only funny when premiered by Dorothy Shay, that glamorous U.S. comedienne who was billed as "The Park Avenue Hillbilly". Although the stupid and vulgar rendition heard here is a low point in the Ted Heath discography, the other 25 tracks more than compensate for this unfortunate lapse in taste. ~ arwulf arwulf

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ted Heath

Product Info:

  • UPC: 603366006121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item