Dan Hicks Alive & Lickin'

Alive & Lickin'
11 ratings
Price: $20.69
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $2.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  AA9R
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 7, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Surfdog Records Ada


  • 1.Alive & Lickin'
  • 2.Where's the Money?
  • 3.I Got Mine
  • 4.Shootin' Straight
  • 5.How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away?
  • 6.Piano Has Been Drinking, The (Not Me)
  • 7.My Cello
  • 8.Wild About My Lovin'
  • 9.I Feel Like Singin'
  • 10.Comes Love
  • 11.Payday Blues
  • 12.Caravan 4 Brothers
  • 13.4 or 5 Times
  • 14.The Buzzard Was Their Friend

Product Description:

Personnel: Dan Hicks (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Tom Mitchell (guitar); Brian Godchaux (mandolin, violin); Annabelle Cruz (violin, percussion, background vocals); Steve Alcott, Dan Andrews (bass); Susan Rabin, Debbie Kee (percussion, background vocals).
Recorded live during Beatin' The Heat Tour 2001 in Northhampton, Massachusetts and Chicago, Illinois.
Clearly energized in a way he'd not been in decades, Dan Hicks hit the road with his Hot Licks, touring far and wide during 2000 and 2001. These new Hot Licks also brought forth the wonderful BEATIN' THE HEAT, a welcome return of fun, frolic and dusty Hicks style. Recorded primarily at a show in Northampton, Massachusetts (a couple songs were drawn from Chicago a performance during the same tour), Hicks is in his element on the stage. His droll between-song patter is perfectly matched to the characters he presents in his songs--tale spinners, comical grouches, and drifters.
The 14 songs offer a fine overview of Hicks's under-recorded career. He plays around with the material in ways which, while not overtly spontaneous, are always idiosyncratically compelling (such as the insertion of "Fire and Rain" into the lyrics of "How Can I Miss you When You Won't Go Away?").

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Dan Hicks

Product Info

  • UPC: 720616712325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)