Tommy Collins Black Cat: Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight

Black Cat: Gonna Shake This Shack Tonight
Price: $22.49
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ERV8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 15, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Bear Family


  • 1.Campus Boogie
  • 2.Black Cat
  • 3.That's the Way Love Is
  • 4.Smooth Sailin'
  • 5.Let Down
  • 6.You Gotta Have a License
  • 7.Let Me Love You
  • 8.You Better Not Do That
  • 9.Untied
  • 10.I Always Get a Souvenir
  • 11.Whatcha Gonna Do Now
  • 12.I Love You More and More Each Day
  • 13.Love-A-Me, S'il Vous Plait
  • 14.You're for Me
  • 15.I'll Be Gone
  • 16.I'm Just Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail
  • 17.It's Nobody's Fault But Yours
  • 18.All of the Monkey's Ain't in the Zoo
  • 19.Wait a Little Longer
  • 20.What Kind of Sweetheart Are You
  • 21.A Love Is Born
  • 22.Heart's Don't Break
  • 23.You Belong in My Arms
  • 24.It Makes No Difference Now
  • 25.I Guess I'm Crazy
  • 26.O Mary Don't You Weep
  • 27.Oklahoma Hills
  • 28.I Got Mine
  • 29.Back Cat [Stereo]
  • 30.Think It Over Boys

Product Description:

Illustrators: R.A. Andreas; Tommy Collins.
Photographers: R.A. Andreas; Tommy Collins.
The purpose of this compilation is, according to the liner notes, to present 30 of Collins' "earlier, for the most part more lighthearted sides." Since Bear Family already has a five-CD Collins box, and since the single-disc The Capitol Collection does a good job of collecting his most popular work, this less focused anthology is of less immediate appeal to either general fans or collectors. That's especially the case considering it has some but not all of his biggest hits, though it boasts Bear Family's typically fine packaging. If you favor the more upbeat and energetic side of 1950s hillbilly, however, this could make a good starter package or sampler. Spanning 1951 to 1960, it showcases a country singer who might not have been as seriously ruminative as the top honky tonkers, or as rowdy as the most boisterous of his peers. But he was skilled at generating consistent, energetic early exponents of the Bakersfield sound, seldom approaching rockabilly, yet steering clear of the more polished country-pop gaining traction as the '50s progressed. Collins actually did get a little raucous and raw on the earliest (and only pre-Capitol) recording here, 1951's "Campus Boogie"; "Black Cat" has a hint of a rock & roll influence; and the latest sides, recorded after his brief retreat into religious life and music, is a bit more pop crossover-conscious. Yet mid-paced numbers would be his primary calling, cleanly produced by Ken Nelson and often featuring sterling picking by top guitarists like Buck Owens, Ferlin Husky, and Billy Strange. He won't displace the likes of Owens as a kingpin of the Bakersfield sound, but those who want to dig a little deeper than the biggest names in the genre will find this CD rewarding. ~ Richie Unterberger
Bear Family Records

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Tommy Collins

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127168979
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)