Roy Orbison The Soul Of Rock 'n' Roll (4-CD)

The Soul Of Rock 'n' Roll (4-CD)
81 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $53.70 Limited Time Only
List Price: $59.98
You Save: $6.28 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  ERS8
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.75
5 stars out of 5 -- "Roy Orbison was a superhero of song....He became someone extraordinary when his weeping tenor took flight....This is the only anthology that does justice to every stage of Orbison's career..."
Spin - p.114
"[H]is idiosyncratic songwriting drew from disparate genres, opening new vistas for early rock'n'roll."
Dirty Linen - p.60
"[T]his four-CD compilation will finally help you trace his development as one of rock 'n' roll's most soulful and preeminent singers from his early beginnings doing country rockabilly in the mid-1950s to the late 1980s..."
Blender (Magazine) - p.84
4 stars out of 5 -- "[Orbison was] a pioneer of jaw-dropping rock balladry that set his eerie tenor into woozy orchestral dramas that seem to have presaged the entire corpus of David Lynch."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.91
5 stars out of 5 -- "THE SOUL OF ROCK'N'ROLL might well be the nearest pop music ever gets to producing a Bible."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Ooby Dooby
  • 2.Hey! Miss Fannie
  • 3.A True Love Goodbye
  • 4.An Empty Cup And A Broken Date
  • 5.Tryin' To Get To You
  • 6.Tutti Frutti
  • 7.Advertisement: Overton Park Shell Concert
  • 8.Ooby Dooby
  • 9.Cat Called Domino
  • 10.Go! Go! Go!
  • 11.Rock House
  • 12.Guitar Pull Medley
  • 13.You're My Baby
  • 14.Mean Little Mama
  • 15.Problem Child
  • 16.One More Time
  • 17.You're Gonna Cry
  • 18.It's Too Late
  • 19.Sweet And Easy To Love
  • 20.This Kind Of Love (Demo Recording)
  • 21.Claudette (Demo Recording)
  • 22.You Tell Me (Demo Recording)
  • 23.Night Owl (Demo Recording)
  • 24.Bad Cat (Demo Recording)
  • 25.I Give Up (Demo Recording)
  • 26.Love Struck (Demo Recording)
  • 27.Baby Don't Stop (Demo Recording)
  • 28.Defeated (Demo Recording)
  • 29.Love Storm (Demo Recording)
  • 30.Almost Eighteen
  • 31.With The Bug
  • 32.Pretty One

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Uptown
  • 2.Only The Lonely (Know The Way I Feel)
  • 3.Blue Angel
  • 4.In Dreams
  • 5.Running Scared
  • 6.I'm Hurtin'
  • 7.(I'd Be) A Legend In My Time
  • 8.Love Hurts
  • 9.Lana
  • 10.Crying
  • 11.Candy Man
  • 12.Night Life
  • 13.(They Call You) Gigolette
  • 14.Let The Good Times Roll
  • 15.Blue Bayou
  • 16.Wedding Day
  • 17.Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)
  • 18.Evergreen
  • 19.Working For The Man
  • 20.The Crowd
  • 21.Leah
  • 22.The Actress
  • 23.Borne On The Wind
  • 24.Falling
  • 25.Indian Wedding
  • 26.Shahdaroba
  • 27.All I Have To Do Is Dream
  • 28.Mama
  • 29.Pretty Paper

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Mean Woman Blues
  • 2.What'd I Say (Live)
  • 3.It's Over
  • 4.Oh, Pretty Woman
  • 5.Yo Te Amo Maria
  • 6.Goodnight
  • 7.(Say) You're My Girl
  • 8.Ride Away
  • 9.Crawling Back
  • 10.Breakin' Up Is Breakin' My Heart
  • 11.Too Soon To Know
  • 12.Communication Breakdown
  • 13.Walk On
  • 14.So Young
  • 15.Blue Rain (Coming Down)
  • 16.Big As I Can Dream
  • 17.Pistolero
  • 18.The Fastest Guitar Alive
  • 19.Precious
  • 20.Unchained Melody
  • 21.Land Of 1000 Dances (Live)
  • 22.Blues In My Mind
  • 23.Born To Love Me
  • 24.That Lovin' You Feelin' Again Harris, Emmylou (With Roy Orbison)
  • 25.Hound Dog Man

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Coming Home
  • 2.Waymore's Blues
  • 3.Oh, Pretty Woman
  • 4.In Dreams
  • 5.Not Alone Anymore
  • 6.You Got It
  • 7.She's A Mystery To Me
  • 8.California Blue
  • 9.A Love So Beautiful
  • 10.(All I Can Do Is) Dream You (Live Version)
  • 11.Oh, Pretty Woman (Live)
  • 12.Heartbreak Radio
  • 13.You're The One
  • 14.Crying Roy Orbison & K.D. Lang
  • 15.After The Love Has Gone
  • 16.I Drove All Night
  • 17.Wild Hearts Run Out Of Time
  • 18.You May Feel Me Crying
  • 19.Life Fades Away
  • 20.It's Over
  • 21.We'll Take The Night

Product Description:

This lavish, four-disc box set is undoubtedly the definitive summation of the career of Roy Orbison, rock & roll's great drama king. Behind those dark glasses and cool veneer lurked a man with an operatic voice and a rockabilly heart, and this set expertly guides you through every phase of his discography. The first disc features Orbison the Sun Records rock-&-roll cat, turning out rollicking rockabilly gems like "Ooby Dooby," and there are a number of mouth-watering demo recordings from this period featured as well. Disc Two really begins to get into the meat of the Orbison discography. Tracks like "Only the Lonely," "Running Scared," and "In Dreams" are lush, otherworldly pop operas where Orbison's unearthly tenor soars above clouds of strings to cry out, sometimes in longing, sometimes in terror. These immortal tracks pierce the listener to the soul, and by the final disc in the set, Orbison is surrounded by younger artists who grew up on those tunes, like k.d. lang, who joins him in a tear-jerking remake of "Crying." If you want the full Orbison experience, you'd be hard-pressed to do better than this box.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 81 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Roy Orbison

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 54,577
  • UPC: 886978214621
  • Shipping Weight: 1.16/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)