Ambrose (Big Band) Glamour of the Thirties

Glamour of the Thirties
3 ratings
Price: $17.08
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  C6YD
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Pearl


  • 1.Man About Town
  • 2.You Are My Lucky Star
  • 3.I'll Step Out of the Picture
  • 4.Wotcha Got a Trombone For?
  • 5.The Piccolino
  • 6.Why Was I Born?
  • 7.One Way Street
  • 8.Knock, Knock, Who's There?
  • 9.Cheek to Cheek
  • 10.Squibs
  • 11.Cucharach, La
  • 12.Who's Been Polishing the Sun?
  • 13.I'm Gonna Wash My Hands of You
  • 14.Yip! Neddy
  • 15.College Rhythm
  • 16.Stay as Sweet as You Are
  • 17.Home James and Don't Spare the Horses
  • 18.Wood and Ivory
  • 19.Dames
  • 20.I Only Have Eyes for You
  • 21.Then I'll Be Tired of You
  • 22.Just A-Wearyin' for You

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ambrose (violin); Sam Browne (vocals).
Recorded between 1934 & 1939.
Personnel: Elsie Carlisle, Evelyn Dall, Rhythm Sisters, Jack Cooper, Max Bacon, Sam Browne (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Tony Watts.
Recording information: 08/08/1934-04/26/1939.
This is one of the more satisfying Ambrose compilations. Covering a period of 1934-1939, the disc generously contains three instrumentals, the most startling of which is a high-stepping version of "Man About Town," recorded in 1939 and never issued in the era of 78s. Sid Phillips' advanced arrangement "Wood and Ivory" is also included to show off the Ambrose organization's prowess as a jazz orchestra. The rest of the tracks contain vocal choruses, performed by Jack Cooper, Max Bacon, Sam Browne, Elsie Carlisle, and the Rhythm Sisters. The redoubtable Evelyn Dall is heard on only one track, but it's a good one -- "Wotcha Got a Trombone For?" Elsie Carlisle and Sam Browne join in on a surprisingly acrimonious duo, "I'm Gonna Wash My Hands of You," and Carlisle proves charming in another "don't mind him, he's just my husband" type of number, "Home James and Don't Spare the Horses." "La Cucaracha" as sung by Sam Browne is high camp, although it does show off the Ambrose orchestra's command of Latin rhythms.
There is really only one certifiable dog in this whole collection, "Stay as Sweet as You Are," sung by Browne, which is merely guilty of being mediocre rather than altogether poor. If you are on the lookout for a good Ambrose compilation, you can't go wrong with this, although it is still not the "perfect" representation of the efforts of Bert Ambrose. The sound is very good, has excellent top end, and is one of the clearest and most noise-free releases this reviewer has heard from Pavilion. ~ Uncle Dave Lewis

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ambrose (Big Band)

Product Info

  • UPC: 727031705529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)