Thin Lizzy Fighting (Deluxe Edition) (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.5
31 ratings
List Price: $29.98
SALE PRICE: $25.73
You Save: $4.25 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  MRY 2792227

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: May 1, 2012
  • Originally Released: 1975
  • Label: Island / Mercury

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rosalie
  • 2.For Those Who Love To Live
  • 3.Suicide
  • 4.Wild One
  • 5.Fighting My Way Back
  • 6.King's Vengeance
  • 7.Spirits Slips Away
  • 8.Silver Dollar
  • 9.Freedom Song
  • 10.Ballad of a Hard Man

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Half Caste
  • 2.Rosalie [US Mix]
  • 3.Half Caste [BBC John Peel Session] [Live]
  • 4.Rosalie [BBC John Peel Session] [Live]
  • 5.Suicide [BBC John Peel Session] [Live]
  • 6.Ballad of the Hard Man [Instrumental Version]
  • 7.Try a Little Harder [Alternate Vocal Version]
  • 8.Fighting My Way Back [Rough Mix With Alternate Vocal]
  • 9.Song For Jesse [Instrumental Version]
  • 10.Leaving Town [Instrumental Version]
  • 11.Blues Boy
  • 12.Leaving Town [Extended Take]
  • 13.Spirit Slips Away [Extended Version Take 4]
  • 14.Wild One [Instrumental Version]
  • 15.Bryan's Funky Fazer / Silver Dollar

Product Description:

Personnel: Brian Robertson (vocals, guitar); Phil Lynott (vocals, acoustic guitar, bass guitar); Roger Chapman (vocals); Scott Gorham (guitar); Ian McLagan (piano); Brian Downey (drums, percussion).
Audio Remasterers: Matt Wortham; Andy Pearce.
Audio Remixer: Steve Brown .
Recording information: Olympic Studios.
Throughout Thin Lizzy's fitful and never-ending series of lineup changes (mainly in guitar players), the band did manage to stay true to leader Phil Lynott's desire that it remain a great guitar band. FIGHTING marks the beginning of the band's most commercially successful lineup (with Scott Gorham and Brian Robertson on guitar). Not coincidentally, the band's most consistent albums surfaced during this period as well. Lynott's grand artistic ambitions, which often resulted in half-baked concept ideas, began to rein themselves in to a more streamlined approach that better suited his basic hard rock attitude.
FIGHTING put forth the formula that earmarks nearly all of the band's best work: hard pumping rock & roll offset with tightly melodic dual guitar lines and Lynott's soulful vocals. Opening with Bob Seger's "Rosalie," a classic '70s power chord rocker, the band struts with confidence and more than a little swagger. The pounding "Fighting My Way Back" is propelled by a pulsing rhythm section, huge guitars, and sheer bravado on Lynott's part. And just when things seem to be on the verge of slipping into macho posturing, a yearning tear in Lynott's voice reveals the vulnerability that lies beneath all barre chords.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 31 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Thin Lizzy

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 64,679
  • UPC: 602527922270
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: