Etta Baker Railroad Bill

Railroad Bill
3 ratings
Price: $20.12
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ERQW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: August 23, 2012
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Cd Baby

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 4-5/00, p.58
" album full of relaxed Piedmont blues with a subtle approach and a smoothly flowing style....selections range from the chirpy, upbeat 'Don't Let Your Deal Go Down' to 'Brown's Boogie', which is as easy-on-the-ear a boogie as you'll ever hear..."


  • 1.Carolina Breakdown
  • 2.Railroad Bill
  • 3.I Get the Blues When It Rains
  • 4.Careless Love
  • 5.Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  • 6.Sunny Tennessee
  • 7.Mint Julep
  • 8.Browns Boogie
  • 9.Lonesome Road Blues
  • 10.Goodbye Brooze
  • 11.Nobody's Business
  • 12.One-Dime Blues
  • 13.Going Down the Road Feeling Bad
  • 14.Candyman
  • 15.Miss a Little Miss
  • 16.Baby Let Me Lay It on You
  • 17.Chilly Winds
  • 18.John Henry
  • 19.Cripple Creek

Product Description:

Personnel: Etta Baker (guitar); Etta Baker; Tim Duffy, Timothy Duffy, Tim Duffy (guitar).
Liner Note Authors: Timothy Duffy; Alan Lomax; Taj Mahal.
Recording information: Morganton, NC (05/1995-06/1998).
Photographers: Timothy Duffy; Donna Ranieri; Axel Kuestner; Tim Duffy; Mark Austin .
Arranger: Etta Baker.
The "premier woman Piedmont blues guitar instrumentalist" is a wordy but accurate description of 87-year-old Etta Baker of Morganton, NC. One of the last pickers who was around when the music was first being recorded, Baker's 83 years of practice is manifested in these wonderful recordings of traditional folk ballads. One highlight follows another, and although "Brown's Boogie" trips up the album's gentle flow, the rest is front-porch perfect. This is music you never get tired of listening to. Newcomers to guitar should buy this album, both to marvel at the intricate technique and to amuse themselves with how frustratingly difficult it can be. ~ Jim Smith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Etta Baker

Product Info

  • UPC: 672009100625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)