Make It Your Sound, Make It Your Scene: Vanguard Records & the 1960s Musical Revolution (4-CD)
by Various Artists

Make It Your Sound, Make It Your Scene: Vanguard
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $30.82 Limited Time Only
List Price: $34.99
You Save: $4.17 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  G2VC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: June 5, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Ace Records UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.104
"This is a beautifully sequenced collection that takes you on a trip through some great, refreshingly unfamiliar music linked by mood, spirit and intent."
Uncut (magazine) - pp.87-88
"[T]he pulse of its heartening story is captured here."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I'm So Glad - Skip James
  • 2.Done Got Wise - Big Bill Broonzy
  • 3.Stagolee - Mississippi John Hurt
  • 4.Gospel Train - Golden Gate Quartet
  • 5.Oh Mary, Don't You Weep - Swan Silvertones
  • 6.The Prodigal Son - Rev Robert Wilkins
  • 7.Bosco Stomp - Cajun Band
  • 8.Blues Is A Botheration - Otis Spann
  • 9.Too Much Alcohol - J.B. Hutto & His Hawks
  • 10.Blues After Hours - Pee Wee Crayton
  • 11.I Can't Be Satisfied - John Hammond
  • 12.What's The Matter With The Mill - Koerner Ray & Glover
  • 13.Cocaine - Dave Van Ronk
  • 14.Samson and Delilah - Rev Gary Davis
  • 15.Cotton Crop Blues - James Cotton
  • 16.Clay's Tune - Charlie Musselwhite Blues Band
  • 17.I Can't Quit You Babe - Otis Rush
  • 18.You Lied To Me - Junior Wells
  • 19.Fever - Buddy Guy
  • 20.Ball and Chain - Big Mama Thornton

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Deep River Blues - Doc Watson
  • 2.Hello Stranger - Mike Seeger
  • 3.House Carpenter - Almeda Riddle
  • 4.500 Miles - Hedy West
  • 5.Little Glass Of Wine - Stanley Brothers
  • 6.Going Down This Road Feeling Bad - Watson Family
  • 7.Stewball - John Herald With The Greenbriar Boys
  • 8.This Land Is Your Land - Weavers
  • 9.Pretty Boy Floyd - Cisco Houston
  • 10.Walk Right In - Rooftop Singers
  • 11.The Rocky Road To Dublin - Liam Clancy
  • 12.Jug Of Punch - Clancy Brothers
  • 13.The Leaves That Are Green - Country Gentlemen
  • 14.Walls Of Time - Bill Monroe With Peter Rowan
  • 15.Where Have All The Flowers Gone? - Pete Seeger
  • 16.Anger In The Land - Hedy West
  • 17.There But For Fortune - Phil Ochs
  • 18.Thirsty Boots - Eric Andersen
  • 19.The Last Thing On My Mind - Tom Paxton
  • 20.San Francisco Bay Blues - Jesse Fuller
  • 21.Roll On Buddy - Kentucky Colonels With Clarence White
  • 22.Hard, Ain't It Hard - Kingston Trio
  • 23.Many A Mile - Patrick Sky

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.North Country Blues - Bob Dylan
  • 2.Farewell, Angelina - Joan Baez
  • 3.Early Morning Rain - Ian & Sylvia
  • 4.Reflections In A Crystal Wind - Mimi & Richard Fari?a
  • 5.Driving On Bald Mountain - Odetta
  • 6.Four Strong Winds - Ian & Sylvia
  • 7.Mobile Line - Jim Kweskin
  • 8.Dope Again - Serpent Power
  • 9.I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag - Country Joe & The Fish
  • 10.Sock It To Me - Sandy Bull
  • 11.Down In The Basement - Notes From The Underground
  • 12.Negative Dreamer Girl - Circus Maximus
  • 13.Rock And Roll Music - Frost-4
  • 14.Cristo Redentor - Charlie Musselwhite With Harvey Mandel
  • 15.Nobody Blues - Serpent Power
  • 16.Born In Chicago - Paul Butterfield Blues Band
  • 17.Oud And Drums - Sandy Bull
  • 18.Janis - Country Joe & The Fish
  • 19.Sweet Lady Love - Frost
  • 20.Lonely Man - Circus Maximus

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down - Joan Baez
  • 2.Hobo's Lullabye - Gary & Randy Scruggs
  • 3.Dueling Banjos - Dillards
  • 4.Shell Game - Jerry Jeff Walker
  • 5.Get Your Biscuits In The Oven And Your Buns In The Bed - Kinky Friedman
  • 6.I'm A Woman - Jim Kweskin & The Jug Band with Maria Muldaur
  • 7.March! For Martin Luther King - John Fahey
  • 8.The Death Of Stephen Biko - Tom Paxton
  • 9.Here I Go Again - Country Joe & The Fish
  • 10.You Should Be More Careful - Elizabeth
  • 11.Soldier Blue - Buffy Sainte-Marie
  • 12.Sold American - Kinky Friedman
  • 13.Sail - Oregon
  • 14.Rene's Theme - Larry Coryell & John McLaughlin
  • 15.Commemorative Transfiguration And Communion At Magruder Park - John Fahey
  • 16.Morning Song To Sally - Jerry Jeff Walker
  • 17.She Used To Want To Be A Ballerina - Buffy Sainte-Marie
  • 18.A Nickel's Worth Of Benny's Help - The 31st Of February
  • 19.Wish I Was A Punk - Notes From The Underground
  • 20.Kiss My Ass - Country Joe McDonald

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: John Crosby .
Introduction by: Samuel Charters.
Begun in 1950 by brothers Maynard & Seymour Solomon, Vanguard Records was initially a classical label, although it issued some two-dozen jazz recordings between 1953 and 1958 under the direction of John Hammond. The brothers weren't as much interested in the commercial side of the record business as they were interested in presenting and archiving American musical history, and they had standards. When they signed blacklisted artists Paul Robeson and the Weavers in the mid-'50s, they garnered the respect of the emerging folk scene, putting the label in a wonderful position to document the urban folk and blues revivals that broke through to new commercial levels just as the '60s opened. Not only did Vanguard issue live albums of the Newport Folk Festivals, the label had also assembled an impressive catalog of young, cutting-edge folk singers, including Joan Baez, Patrick Sky, Buffy Sainte-Marie, Ian & Sylvia, Richard & Mimi FariĀ¤a, Hedy West, the Rooftop Singers, Eric Andersen, and many others, and had also issued important albums from blues rediscoveries Skip James and Mississippi John Hurt, made forays into bluegrass, and released Doc Watson's first LPs, all of which made Vanguard the most successful of the folk and blues labels of the '60s. Later in the decade the label tried its hand at rock, signing and issuing fine albums by Country Joe & the Fish and the Frost, although it is as a folk label that Vanguard's reputation rests. This four-disc set provides an in-depth survey of the breadth of Vanguard's catalog, and also serves as a sort of musical journey through the cultural shifts and changes of the '60s. The '70s weren't as kind to Vanguard as the '60s were, and the label was sold to the Welk Music Group in 1985, undergoing a kind of resurgence with albums from John Fogerty, Greg Laswell, Merle Haggard, Chris Isaak, Linda Ronstadt, Robert Cray' and others, but Vanguard's '60s catalog continues to be the label's defining jewel. This set shows why. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 029667000925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.59/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)