Carolina Chocolate Drops Dona Got a Ramblin' Mind

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.6
27 ratings
List Price: $13.98
Your Price: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  MMAK 76

CD Details

  • Released: September 12, 2006
  • Label: Music Maker

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.71
"DONA GOT A RAMBLIN' MIND is dazzling in its velocity and virtuosity..."
Dirty Linen - p.48
"[T]hey represent the hope for rebirth and continuation of a vibrant, exciting genre....Every note exudes excitement and vitality."
Living Blues - p.33
"The music the Chocolate Drops make is good-timey and danceable, with a rugged undercurrent of hard-bitten wisdom contained in the lyrics."
No Depression - p.96
"Their debut discs brims with exuberance. Tackling sixteen traditional songs -- some well-known, others obscure -- the group transcends any whiff of novelty while conjuring up a bygone era."


  • 1.Starry Crown
  • 2.Dona Got a Ramblin' Mind
  • 3.Rickett's Hornpipe
  • 4.Ol' Corn Likker
  • 5.Little Sadie
  • 6.Little Margaret
  • 7.Dixie
  • 8.Black Annie
  • 9.Tom Dula
  • 10.George Buck
  • 11.Old Cat Died - (with Sule Greg Wilson)
  • 12.Another Man Done Gone
  • 13.Black-Eye D Daisy
  • 14.Short Life of Trouble
  • 15.Sally Ann
  • 16.Sourwood Mountain

Product Description:

The Carolina Chocolate Drops: Rhiannon Giddens, Dom Flemons, Justin Robinson (banjo).
Additional personnel: Sule Greg Wilson (percussion).
Some 80 years after its initial era, traditional string-band/jug-band folk music of the kind played by Gid Tanner and Uncle Eck Dunford in the 1920s and '30s was a rarity in itself, but the fact that the Carolina Chocolate Drops are young African-Americans rather than aged Caucasians makes them stand out even more. The trio employs fiddle, acoustic guitar, banjo, and--yes--jug, for a sound that's full of reverence for first-generation string-band music but breathes with plenty of sonic vitality. Unsurprisingly, there are traditional tunes aplenty on the band's debut album, DONA GOT A RAMBLIN' MIND, and the Chocolate Drops tear into them with the same reckless abandon that made their musical heroes' music so immediately appealing so many years earlier.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 27 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Carolina Chocolate Drops

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 105,833
  • UPC: 601163000762
  • Shipping Weight: 0.13/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item