K.C. Douglas Mercury Blues

Mercury Blues
1 rating
Price: $20.41
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XE94
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 20, 1998
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.Mercury Blues
  • 2.My Mind's Going Back to 1929
  • 3.Catfish Blues
  • 4.High Water Rising
  • 5.Woke up This Morning
  • 6.Somebody Done Stole My Gal - (previously unreleased)
  • 7.Fanny Lou - (previously unreleased)
  • 8.I Don't Want No Woman to Love Me - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Married Woman Blues - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.Black Cat Bone - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.Good Looking Woman - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Richard's Ride - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Hear Me Howling - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.I'm Gonna Build Me a Web - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.Make Your Coffee - (previously unreleased)
  • 16.Night Shift Blues - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.Canned Heat - (previously unreleased)
  • 18.Your Crying Won't Make Me Stay
  • 19.Country Girl
  • 20.Black Cat Bone
  • 21.Good Looking Women
  • 22.Fanny Lou

Product Description:

Personnel: K.C. Douglas (vocals, guitar); Ron Thompson (guitar); Richard
Riggins (hamonica); Jim Marshall (drums).
Recorded between 1960 and 1974. Originally released on Arhoolie (1073). Includes liner notes by Tom Mazzolini and Chris Strachwitz.
Personnel: K.C. Douglas (vocals, guitar); Ron Thompson (guitar); Jim Marshall (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Chris Strachwitz; Tom Mazzolini.
Recording information: 1960-1974.
Photographer: Chris Strachwitz.
Spare electric blues from 1973-74 with a juke-joint feel, including a version of "Mercury Blues," tcovered by Steve Miller and Alan Jackson. Originally released on LP on Arhoolie 1073, the CD reissue adds a dozen previously unissued bonus cuts, taken from sessions in 1960, 1963, 1973, and 1974. It's competent but unexceptional country-blues with added electricity and a rhythm section, and pretty similar-sounding most of the way through. "I'm Gonna Build Me a Web," the 1963 track, stands out here as the piano and sax add some needed texture; the three 1960 songs are solo acoustic performances. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for K.C. Douglas

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297047521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)