Doctor Ross Boogie Disease

Boogie Disease
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
CYBER WEEK SALE: $15.28 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XE6V
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Premium Shipping

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: 1995
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.Boogie Disease - (take 5)
  • 2.Going to the River
  • 3.Good Thing Blues
  • 4.Turkey Leg Woman
  • 5.Country Clown
  • 6.My BeBop Gal
  • 7.Memphis Boogie - (take 1, Juke Box Boogie)
  • 8.Shake 'Em on Down
  • 9.Down South Blues
  • 10.Shake a My Hand
  • 11.Little Soldier Boy
  • 12.Mississippi Blues - (Cat Squireel)
  • 13.Going Back South
  • 14.Dr. Ross (Chicago) Break Down - (take 2)
  • 15.Taylor Mae
  • 16.Texas Hop
  • 17.Chicago Breakdown - (take 3)
  • 18.Junke Box Boogie - (take 2)
  • 19.Feel So Sad
  • 20.Polly Put Your Kettle On
  • 21.Industrial Avenue Boogie
  • 22.Downtown Boogie

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Dr. Ross (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Wiley Gatlin (guitar); Barber Parker (drums).
Personnel: Doctor Ross (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Wiley Gatlin (vocals, guitar); Henry Hill (piano); Barber Parker (drums); Reubin Martin (washboard).
Liner Note Author: Steve LaVere.
Recording information: Memphis, TN (11/29/1951-??/??/1954).
Editors: Chris Strachwitz; Doctor Ross.
Photographer: Jim Marshall .
This one will make your teeth rattle. A veteran of the early-'50s Sun Studio in Memphis, Ross became known as the "one-man band," a routine gleaned from his mentor Joe Hill Louis. He plays both fine harp (out of the Sonny Boy I mold) and exciting rhythm guitar characterized by churning, mesmerizing rhythms spiced by treble fills. These 22 infectious tracks are the good doctor's very first recordings, and they present him with rhythm section -- a style that predates his "one-man" days. ~ Larry Hoffman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297037126
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Extended Holiday Hours: Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)