Utopia Redux 1992: Live in Japan (CD + DVD)

Redux 1992: Live in Japan (CD + DVD)
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.65 Limited Time Only
List Price: $27.99
You Save: $3.34 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  KJ52
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Fix Your Gaze
  • Buy for $0.992.Zen Machine
  • Buy for $0.993.Trapped
  • Buy for $0.994.Princess of the Universe
  • Buy for $0.995.Abandon City
  • Buy for $0.996.Hammer In My Heart
  • Buy for $0.997.Swing To the Right
  • Buy for $0.998.The Ikon
  • Buy for $0.999.Hiroshima
  • Buy for $0.9910.Back On the Street
  • Buy for $0.9911.Only Human
  • Buy for $0.9912.Love In Action
  • Buy for $0.9913.Caravan
  • Buy for $0.9914.Last of the New Wave Riders
  • Buy for $0.9915.One World
  • Buy for $0.9916.Love is the Answer

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Behind the Scenes [DVD]
  • 2.Fix Your Gaze [DVD]
  • 3.Princess of the Universe [DVD]
  • 4.Hammer In My Heart [DVD]
  • 5.Back On the Street [DVD]
  • 6.Hiroshima [DVD]
  • 7.Love In Action [DVD]
  • 8.Caravan [DVD]
  • 9.Last of the New Wave Riders [DVD]
  • 10.One World [DVD]
  • 11.Love is the Answer [DVD]
  • 12.Just One Victory [DVD]

Product Description:

Utopia: Todd Rundgren (guitar, vocals), Roger Powell (keyboards, vocals), Kasim Sulton (bass, vocals), Willie Wilcox (drums, vocals).
Filmed live at Gotanda Kani Hall, Tokyo, Japan, May 1992.
This reunion concert was Utopia's first performance since 1985.
Utopia: Todd Rundgren (guitar, vocals), Roger Powell (keyboards, vocals), Karim Sulton (bass, vocals), Willie Wilcox (drums, vocals).
Recorded live at Gotanda Kani Hoken Hall, Tokyo, Japan. Includes liner notes by Utopia.
All songs written by members of Utopia.
Following the commercial disappointment of 2nd Wind, Todd Rundgren decided to reunite Utopia in 1992 for a brief tour of Japan, releasing Redux '92: Live in Japan as a souvenir that very year. Although it had been nearly seven years since the band had played live, they sound tight and professional throughout the record. As a matter of fact, judging from the group's performance, it sounds like the performance could have been from 1985, since it is utterly unaffected by contemporary trends. That actually makes for a bit of a bizarre listen, since it's a time capsule out of time, but most diehard fans should be pleased with the performance, especially it balances crowd pleasers ("Love in Action," "Love Is the Answer," "One World," "Just One Victory") with cult favorites ("Fix Your Gaze," "Princess of the Universe," "Hammer in My Heart," the ridiculous "Hiroshima," presumably revived because the band was in Japan). Not all hardcore followers will need it -- unlike Back to the Bars, it doesn't capture either Rundgren or Utopia in their prime -- but it's an interesting footnote nonetheless. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Utopia

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 127,589
  • UPC: 5013929733824
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)