Dr. John Goin' Back To New Orleans

Goin' Back To New Orleans
28 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $5.02 Limited Time Only
List Price: $5.98
You Save: $0.96 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  3638J
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Rhino Flashback

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/17/92, p.96
3.5 Stars - Good Plus - "...the music of Dr. John has never strayed far from its roots. And those roots have never been more joyously, bawdily or playfully celebrated than they are on this album..."
Q - 9/92, p.71
4 Stars - Excellent - "..serves as a tour d'horizon of the music of the Crescent City, its don't-rush-me vocals, with-you-in-a-minute rhythms and all-pervading swing.."
Down Beat - 9/92, p.34
4 Stars - Very Good - "...the culmination of Mac Rebennack's career to date....evokes Wynton, with high-stepping horn charts and a retro repertoire that goes back to Buddy Bolden and beyond..."


  • 1.Litanie Des Saints
  • 2.Careless Love
  • 3.My Indian Red
  • 4.Milneburg Joys
  • 5.I Thought I Heard Buddy Bolden Say
  • 6.Basin Street Blues
  • 7.Didn't He Ramble
  • 8.Do You Call That a Buddy?
  • 9.How Come My Dog Don't Bark (When You Come Around)
  • 10.Good Night, Irene
  • 11.Fess Up [Instrumental Version]
  • 12.Since I Fell For You
  • 13.I'll Be Glad When You're Dead, You Rascal You
  • 14.Cabbage Head
  • 15.Goin' Home Tomorrow
  • 16.Blue Monday
  • 17.Scald Dog Medley / I Can't Go On
  • 18.Goin' Back To New Orleans

Product Description:

Personnel: Dr. John (vocals, guitar, piano, organ); Danny Barker (guitar, banjo); Tommy Moran (guitar); Pete Fountain (clarinet); Charles Neville, Herb Hardesty, Eric Traub, Amadee Castenell, Frederick Kemp (tenor saxophone); Alvin "Red" Tyler, Roger Lewis (baritone saxophone); Al Hirt, Jamil Sharif, Charlie Miller, Umar Sharif, Clyde Kerr, Jr. (trumpet); Bruce Hammond (trombone); Kirk Joseph (tuba); David Barard, Chris Severin (bass); Freddy Staehle (drums); Alfred "Uganda" Roberts, Chief "Smiley" Ricks, Cyril Neville, Charles Neville (percussion); Shirley Goodman, Stephanie Whitfield, Connie Fitch, Tara Janelle, Chuck Carbo (background vocals).
The Neville Brothers: Art Neville, Aaron Neville, Charles Neville, Cyril Neville (vocals).
Recorded at Ultrasonic Studios, New Orleans, Louisiana.
Dr. John burst into the popular consciousness in the late '60s with the release of GRIS GRIS: THE NIGHT TRIPPER, an album that saw the gifted multi-instrumentalist filtering his years of experience as a New Orleans session player through the cracked lens of the psychedelic era. Though that album's dark blend of New Orleans rhythms and outr‚ production techniques made it a '60s counter-culture favorite, it drew from a much more venerable set of musical traditions. On 1992's GOIN' BACK TO NEW ORLEANS, Dr. John takes his audience on a guided tour of New Orleans jazz and r&b, assaying memorable covers of beloved standards like W.C. Handy's "Careless Love" and more obscure numbers like Jelly Roll Morton's "I Thought I Heard Buddy Bolden Say." Dr. John and his accompanists, including a plethora of New Orleans music luminaries, give these numbers compelling and authoritative readings. GOIN' TO NEW ORLEANS is a fascinating slice of New Orleans history that also sheds light on the origins of Dr. John's inimitable aesthetic.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Dr. John

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,258
  • UPC: 081227990091
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)