Mel McDaniel Baby's Got Her Blue Jeans On: His Original Capitol Hits

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.5
3 ratings
List Price: $16.98
SALE PRICE: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  RLGM 400048

CD Details

  • Released: May 1, 2012
  • Label: Real Gone Music


  • 1.Gentle To Your Senses
  • 2.Soul of a Honky Tonk Woman
  • 3.God Made Love
  • 4.Bordertown Woman
  • 5.Play Her Back To Yesterday
  • 6.Lovin' Starts Where Friendship Ends
  • 7.Countryfied
  • 8.Louisiana Saturday Night
  • 9.Right In the Palm of Your Hand
  • 10.Preaching Up a Storm
  • 11.Take Me To the Country
  • 12.Big Ole Brew
  • 13.I Wish I Was In Nashville
  • 14.Old Man River (I've Come To Talk Again)
  • 15.I Call It Love
  • 16.Baby's Got Her Blue Jeans On
  • 17.Let It Roll (Let It Rock)
  • 18.Stand Up
  • 19.Shoe String
  • 20.Stand On It
  • 21.Real Good Feel Good Song

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Kevin Bartley.
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Mel McDaniel racked up his share of hits during the '80s, hitting the Billboard Country Top Ten five times during the first half of the decade and topping the charts in 1984 with "Baby's Got Her Blue Jeans On," but he hasn't been subject to a non-budget-line comp since he closed out his contract with Capitol in 1987. So, Real Gone Music's 2012 set Baby's Got Her Blue Jeans On: His Original Capitol Hits is kind of a big deal: not only is it the first Mel McDaniel compilation crafted for CD, it's also an excellent retrospective. His earlier records, where his country was a little harder and weirder, are downplayed in favor of his slicker, stronger '80s sides. This may mean we don't get "Roll Your Own," which the Fabulous Poodles covered, but we do get most of his charting singles -- "Louisiana Saturday Night," "Big Ole Brew," "Baby's Got Her Blue Jeans On," "Let It Roll (Let It Rock)," "Old Man River (I've Come to Talk Again)," "Stand Up," "Stand on It" -- and a sharply selected clutch of album tracks, all adding up to a convincing argument that McDaniel is one of the more underrated country singers of his time. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.5
Based on 3 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 3.5 Good overall representation of Mel's career. Music Lover: from CORPUS CHRISTI, TX US -- April, 20, 2013

For many years the only Mel McDaniel compilation was the 1987 Capitol Greatest Hits 10 track comp. It had seven previous hits and 3 new tracks.(Only 2 were released to moderate chart success) Then in 2003 put out a 14 track compilation on its own CMG Records Signature Series. This is a great c.d. as it includes five of the biggest hits from the Capitol comp plus nine more top ten and top twenty hits. I was very happy to have all these Mel McDaniel hits, but there was still a few more top 20 and really fine top 30 tracks I wanted. Then, in mid 2012 Real Gone Music put out a 21 track Baby's Got Her Blue Jeans On: His Original Capitol Hits. The
good thing with this comp is that it has six more songs not included on the previous two compilations, and two of those were never put on
album at all("Play Her Back To Yesterday" and "Lovin' Starts Where Frienship Ends" were only 45rpm's). I thought this was great, I'm
getting all these hits remastered to today's c.d. standards. But that is where the great part ends. The first problem is track 3 is supposed to
be "God Made Love"--it isn't. It's a cut called "I'll Just Take It Out In Love" from the album Gentle To Your Senses. The other problem is with part of the title of this comp, His Original Capitol Hits. The problem is that five of his biggest hits are not the original recordings--"Big Ole Brew", Baby's Got Her Blue Jeans On", "Let It Roll", "Stand Up" and "Stand On It" are all different recordings from the ones I played when I was a radio d.j. They sound good, but just--not right. He picks up the tempo and sings so fast on "Let It Roll" that you can't understand the words sometimes. Maybe these were alternate takes, and the album compiler got the wrong ones. So I guess one could say "at least 16 of the songs are the real original recordings". So, if you can get past the fact that those five songs are not the ones
you may have heard on the radio or played on your stereo, then this is probably the best representation of most of Mel's music from the late '70's through the late '80's. BTW, those 5 songs are on the original Capitol Greatest Hits. Enjoy.

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Mel McDaniel

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 38,732
  • UPC: 848064000488
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: