Little Willie John Complete Hit Singles A's & B's (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
List Price: $19.98
SALE PRICE: $17.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  RLGM 400046

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 17, 2012
  • Label: Real Gone Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - p.67
"Listening to the A and B sides of Little Willie John's 16 charting singles back-to-back reveals how consistently magnificent the majority were..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.100
4 stars out of 5 -- "He kicked off with 'All Around The World,' a cover of Titus Turner's witty rocker..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.All Around the World
  • 2.Don't Leave Me Dear
  • 3.Need Your Love So Bad
  • 4.Home At Last
  • 5.Fever
  • 6.Letter From My Darling
  • 7.Do Something For Me
  • 8.My Nerves
  • 9.Talk To Me, Talk To Me
  • 10.Spasms
  • 11.You're a Sweetheart
  • 12.Let's Rock While the Rockin's Good
  • 13.Tell It Like It is
  • 14.Don't Be Ashamed To Call My Name
  • 15.Leave My Kitten Alone
  • 16.Let Nobody Love You

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Let Them Talk
  • 2.Right There
  • 3.I'm Shakin'
  • 4.A Cottage For Sale
  • 5.Heartbreak (It's Hurtin' Me)
  • 6.Do You Love Me
  • 7.Sleep
  • 8.There's a Difference
  • 9.Walk Slow
  • 10.You Hurt Me
  • 11.The Very Thought of You
  • 12.I'm Sorry
  • 13.(I'Ve Got) Spring Fever
  • 14.Flamingo
  • 15.Take My Love (I Want To Give It All To You)
  • 16.Now You Know

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Jim Stewart .
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
Prior to Real Gone's 2012 double-disc The Complete Hit Singles A's & B's, there had been many Little Willie John collections, many of them excellent, but none captured this R&B trailblazer in all his glory the way this 36-track does. Part of this is due to the mere luxury of space: it is the only compilation to run longer than a single disc. Even at that generous length there are tremendous songs left behind -- "My Baby's in Love with Another Guy," which closed Rhino's 1993 disc Fever, the previous best-available Little Willie John collection, isn't here -- but this strictly follows the rubric of the title, running down both sides of his King singles from 1955 to 1961. Each of the big hits -- "All Around the World," "Fever," "Leave My Kitten Alone," "I'm Shakin'" -- are here, each familiar through many covers, and they're enough to establish his considerable legacy, but the obscurities littered throughout the rest of the compilation illustrate the depth of his talent. Little Willie John could beg, plead, and testify; he could shake and shimmy; he soared to great heights -- heights that were heard on his A-sides but also the flips that are collected here, on this essential collection of pioneering R&B. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Little Willie John

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 38,884
  • UPC: 848064000464
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: