Frank Zappa Uncle Meat (2-CD)

Uncle Meat (2-CD)
44 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  36D98
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 31, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Zappa Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/31/69, p.37
"...a consummate piece of instrumentation, it is artistry...expertly crafted cynicism...a serious piece of music..."
Down Beat
Mojo (Publisher) - p.139
"Zappa's sixth album placed the focus on his instrumental prowess. The result is rich with his arch and artful compositions..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Uncle Meat (Main Title Theme)
  • 2.The Voice of Cheese
  • 3.Nine Types of Industrial Pollution
  • 4.Zolar Czakl
  • 5.Dog Breath, In the Year of the Plague
  • 6.The Legend of the Golden Arches
  • 7.Louie Louie [At the Royal Albert Hall In London]
  • 8.The Dog Breath Variations
  • 9.Sleeping In a Jar
  • 10.Our Bizarre Relationship
  • 11.The Uncle Meat Variations
  • 12.Electric Aunt Jemima
  • 13.Prelude To King Kong
  • 14.God Bless America [Live At the Whisky a Go Go]
  • 15.A Pound For a Brown On the Bus
  • 16.Ian Underwood Whips It Out [Live Onstage In Copenhagen]
  • 17.Mr. Green Genes
  • 18.We Can Shoot You
  • 19."If We'd All Been Living In California..."
  • 20.The Air
  • 21.Project X
  • 22.Cruising For Burgers

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Uncle Meat Film Excerpt, Pt. 1
  • 2.Tango Na Minchia Tanta
  • 3.Uncle Meat Film Excerpt, Pt. 2
  • 4.King Kong Itself, Pt. 1
  • 5.King Kong, Pt. 2
  • 6.King Kong, Pt. 3
  • 7.King Kong, Pt. 4
  • 8.King Kong, Pt. 5
  • 9.King Kong, Pt. 6

Product Description:

Full performer name: Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention.
Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention: Frank Zappa (vocals, guitar, percussion); Roy Estrada (vocals, bass); Jimmy Carl Black (vocals, drums); Ray Collins, Nelcy Walker (vocals); Euclid James "Motorhead" Sherwood (tenor saxophone, tambourine); Bunk Gardner (piccolo, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, soprano, alto & tenor saxophones, bassoon); Don Preston (piano); Ian Underwood (clarinet, flute, alto & baritone saxophones, piano, organ, harpsichord, celeste); Artie Tripp (vibraphone, marimba, xylophone, drums, tympani, wood blocks, bells, chimes); Ruth Komanoff (marimba).
Recorded from October 1967 to February 1968. Includes liner notes by Frank Zappa.
UNCLE MEAT was digitally remixed in 1987 with approximately 40 minutes of previously unreleased material from the original sessions.
Personnel: Frank Zappa (vocals, guitar, percussion); Ray Collins (vocals); Nelcy Walker (soprano); Bunk Gardner (flute, piccolo, clarinet, bass clarinet, bassoon, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ian Underwood (flute, clarinet, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, piano, celesta, harpsichord, electric organ); Euclid James Sherwood (tenor saxophone, tambourine); Don Preston (electric piano); Art Tripp (vibraphone, marimba, xylophone, drums, timpani, wood block, bells); Ruth Komanoff (vibraphone, marimba); Roy Estrada (electric bass); Jimmy Carl Black, Billy Mundi (drums).
Recording information: 10/1967-09/1968.
Arranger: Frank Zappa.
Over the two-record set, Zappa manages to cover the entire spread of his interests. Masquerading as a movie in progress, it is a way of highlighting the struggle of trying to keep the band together against a pretty hostile, or worse, apathetic audience. The frustration of putting something out that is artistically brilliant has a particular significance, as music and film go hand in hand. The film dialogue is either hilarious or it will leave you cold. The former is the general consensus. Zappa was so far ahead that his earth life ended before we caught up with him. Weird but highly recommended.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 44 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Frank Zappa

Product Info

  • UPC: 824302383926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)