Big Joe Turner The Midnight Special

The Midnight Special
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  OJC 1077
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: OJC


  • 1.The Midnight Special
  • 2.You're Driving Me Crazy
  • 3.So Long (It's Been Good to Know Yuh)
  • 4.I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  • 5.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter
  • 6.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 7.After My Laughter Came Tears
  • 8.Things That I Used to Do, The - (bonus track)
  • 9.You're Driving Me Crazy - (alternate take, bonus track)
  • 10.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter - (alternate take, bonus track)
  • 11.I Left My Heart in San Francisco - (alternate take, bonus track)
  • 12.I Can't Give You Anything But Love - (alternate take, bonus track)
  • 13.Stoop Down Baby

Product Description:

Personnel: Joe Turner (vocals), Sylvester Scott (piano), Cal Green (guitar), Bobby Haynes (bass), Washington Rucker (drums), Jake Porter (trumpet), Roy Brewster (baritone horn), Curtis Kirk (harmonica).
Recorded in Los Angeles, May 1976.
Personnel: Big Joe Turner (vocals); Cal Green (guitar); Curtis Kirk (harmonica); Curtis Peagler (alto & tenor saxophones); Jake Porter (trumpet); Roy Brewster (baritone horn); Sylvester Scott (piano); Bobby Haynes (bass); Washington Rucker (drums).
Recorded at RCA Studios, Los Angeles, California on May 27, 1976.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Big Joe Turner (vocals); Curtis Peagler (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Jake "Vernon" Porter (trumpet); Roy Brewster (baritone horn); Sylvester Scott (piano); Washington Rucker (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Audio Remixer: David Luke.
Recording information: RCA Studio, Los Angeles, CA (1976).
Big Joe Turner was among the greatest jump blues shouters of all time, and he certainly helped pave the way for the rock & roll explosion of the mid-'50s. But Turner was also a fine jazz singer. When the Kansas City native recorded for Norman Granz's Pablo label in the '70s, he was often heard in jazz settings -- and The Midnight Special is among the swing-oriented dates that Turner provided for Pablo when he was in his sixties. This album, which Fantasy reissued on CD in 2002 for the Original Jazz Classics (OJC) series, was recorded in a Los Angeles studio in 1976. But The Midnight Special sounds like it could have been recorded in a small club. That's because it has the feeling of a loose jam session; Turner and his hard-swinging sidemen (who include saxophonist Curtis Peagler, trumpeter Jake Porter, and guitarist Cal Green, among others) sound delightfully spontaneous on standards that range from "I Can't Give You Anything But Love" and "You're Driving Me Crazy" to Leadbelly's "The Midnight Special." The singer also turns his attention to Woody Guthrie's "So Long" (a folk song) and "I Left My Heart in San Francisco"; although Tony Bennett recorded the definitive version of the latter, Turner's jazz interpretation isn't without its charms. To his credit, Turner doesn't even try to emulate Bennett's version -- he's wise enough to do his own thing. The Midnight Special isn't among Turner's essential releases, but it's an enjoyable outing that hardcore fans will appreciate -- and collectors will be happy to know that Fantasy has added five bonus tracks (most of them alternate takes). ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Big Joe Turner

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218707725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)