John Lee Hooker Boogie Chillun [Charly] (Live)

Boogie Chillun [Charly] (Live)
5 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  36D66
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Fantasy


  • Buy for $0.991.I Just Can't Hold on Much Longer
  • Buy for $0.992.I'm Gonna Keep on Walking
  • Buy for $0.993.I Was Standing by the Wayside
  • Buy for $0.994.T. B. Is Killing Me
  • Buy for $0.995.Run on Babe
  • Buy for $0.996.This World
  • Buy for $0.997.I Like to See You Walk
  • Buy for $0.998.It's You I Love, Baby
  • Buy for $0.999.Driftin' and Driftin'
  • Buy for $0.9910.You Gonna Miss Me
  • Buy for $0.9911.You're Nice and Kind to Me Lou Della
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Need Some Money
  • Buy for $0.9913.I Want to Get Married
  • Buy for $0.9914.Boogie Chillun
  • Buy for $0.9915.Night Time Is the Right Time
  • Buy for $0.9916.You Don't Move Me Baby
  • Buy for $0.9917.You Been Dealin' With the Devil
  • Buy for $0.9918.Cruel Little Baby
  • Buy for $0.9919.I Got the Key to the Highway

Product Description:

Personnel includes: John Lee Hooker (vocals, guitar).
All tracks recorded on November 2 & 3 and 8-10, 1962. Tracks 1-10 originally released as LIVE AT SUGAR HILL on Galaxy (8205). Tracks 11-19 originally released in 1972 on the album BOOGIE CHILLUN on Fantasy (24706). Includes original release liner notes by Tony Glover.
Since maximum playing time of a single CD could not accommodate the entire length of the original double-album release, one selection ("Matchbox") has been deleted.
Personnel: John Lee Hooker (vocals, guitar).
Liner Note Author: Tony Glover.
Recording information: 11/02/1962-11/10/1962.
Photographer: Phil Bray.
This version of BOOGIE CHILLUN, originally a live album recorded in 1962, also includes the disc LIVE AT SUGAR HILL, also recorded live in that same year. These two solo concerts are from the beginning of Hooker's "rediscovery" period. The early-'60s folk boom brought blues artists of Hooker's generation back into vogue and gave them a new audience. For Hooker it was more than a chance to cash in on his reputation. He took the opportunity to pare his music down to its essential elements for a harder, more focused sound than that of his '50s band recordings.
Hooker's voice is deeper and richer, full of hard-earned wisdom, and his trenchant guitar accompaniment is all that's required for the delivery of these hard-hitting tunes. The bleakness of "T.B. Is Killing Me" and "This World" are offset by the randiness of "I Like to See You Walk" and the world of endless possibility presented in "I Got the Key to the Highway." The ability to balance the good and the bad in this manner is the earmark of a blues genius, a title Hooker undoubtedly deserves.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for John Lee Hooker

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218240628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)