Homesick James Williamson The Big Bear Sessions (2-CD)

The Big Bear Sessions (2-CD)
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  9J49
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Castle Us

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 5/03, p.102
3 stars out of 5 - "...Pryor delivers his customary package of melancholy vocals and economic but expressive harmonica. When the two blend slide guitar and harp the clock runs backwards to '50s Chicago..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Highway 51
  • Buy for $0.992.Lonesome Train
  • Buy for $0.993.Homesick's Original Dust My Broom
  • Buy for $0.994.Kissing in the Dark
  • Buy for $0.995.Crossroads
  • Buy for $0.996.Shake Your Money Maker
  • Buy for $0.997.Careless Love
  • Buy for $0.998.Tin Pan Alley
  • Buy for $0.999.Dust My Broom
  • Buy for $0.9910.Woman I Love
  • Buy for $0.9911.Drivin' Dog
  • Buy for $0.9912.Homesick Blues Again
  • Buy for $0.9913.If I Could Live My Life All Over Again [Live]
  • Buy for $0.9914.Baby Please Set a Date [Live]
  • Buy for $0.9915.Shake Your Money Maker [Live]
  • Buy for $0.9916.Dust My Broom [Live]
  • Buy for $0.9917.Worried About My Baby [Live]
  • Buy for $0.9918.Gotta Move Can't Stay Here No More [Live]
  • Buy for $0.9919.Tin Pan Alley [Live]
  • Buy for $0.9920.Careless Love [Live]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Shake Your Boogie
  • Buy for $0.992.Bottle Up and Go
  • Buy for $0.993.You Don't Know My Name
  • Buy for $0.994.Bluebird Blues
  • Buy for $0.995.Can't Love Me and Homesick Too
  • Buy for $0.996.Baby Left Me a Mule to Ride
  • Buy for $0.997.Jump and Shout
  • Buy for $0.998.Gonna Have a Good Time
  • Buy for $0.999.So Sweet
  • Buy for $0.9910.Crazy 'Bout You
  • Buy for $0.9911.Nothin' But Trouble
  • Buy for $0.9912.Cross Town
  • Buy for $0.9913.After You There Won't Be Nobody Else
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Feel Alright
  • Buy for $0.9915.She Knows How to Love Me
  • Buy for $0.9916.Dangerous Woman
  • Buy for $0.9917.Sloppy Drunk
  • Buy for $0.9918.Sweet Home Chicago
  • Buy for $0.9919.Mailman

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Homesick James (vocals, guitar); Snooky Taylor (vocals, harmonica).
Compilation producers: Neil Slaven, Roger Dopson.
Includes liner notes by Neil Slaven.
This is part of Big Bear Productions "Blues Heritage" series.
This double-CD set of Homesick James and Snooky Prior is remarkable in that it is the first time the entire collection of these sessions has been assembled. There are 39 cuts over two discs. Included are three complete albums and cuts from two different compilations. James did one of these records himself, Home Sweet Homesick James, but Shake Your Boogie and the self-titled duet album were with Prior. The album with Prior is the most satisfying here because of the rawness of the backing band and the loose spooked-out groove of the proceedings -- more like Junior Kimbrough and R.L. Burnside than Muddy Waters. The version of "Crossroads" sounds like an entirely different song yet loses none of its power because of its hypnotic boogie. The earliest solo slide guitar material by James, like his version of Sonny Boy Williamson's "Lonesome Train," also has the repetitive groove goin' on, but the guitar playing is so phenomenal it's distracting. The material from Shake Your Boogie is a straight-up good-time blues record; it's funky, greasy, and vulgar in all the best ways. The sound of the recording is also very warm and immediate. He and Prior just get to it, burning up one blues classic after another. Again, James' slide playing is intense as hell; he's always on the beat, and letting the bottleneck ring against Snooky's harp. Even on the more laid-back tunes such as "Bottle Up and Go," the energy just crackles in the mix. The mix of originals to covers is about even, but it hardly matters since these cats make every tune their own. Once more, what these archival recordings prove is that Big Bear was a far more important label than originally thought, and they captured late performances by some of the absolute masters of the genre. This is essential. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Homesick James Williamson

Product Info

  • UPC: 021823607528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)