Barbecue Bob Chocolate to the Bone

Chocolate to the Bone
5 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  QFVA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Yazoo


  • Buy for $0.991.Motherless Chile Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.Spider and the Fly
  • Buy for $0.993.Yo Yo Blues
  • Buy for $0.994.Mississippi Heavy Water Blues
  • Buy for $0.995.California Blues
  • Buy for $0.996.She's Coming Back Some Cold Rainy Day
  • Buy for $0.997.Barbecue Blues
  • Buy for $0.998.When the Saints Go Marching In
  • Buy for $0.999.Ease It to Me Blues
  • Buy for $0.9910.Poor Boy a Long Ways From Home
  • Buy for $0.9911.Diddle-da-Diddle
  • Buy for $0.9912.Going up the Country
  • Buy for $0.9913.Atlanta Moan
  • Buy for $0.9914.Good Time Rounder
  • Buy for $0.9915.It's Just Too Bad
  • Buy for $0.9916.Twistin' Your Stuff - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Chocolate to the Bone
  • Buy for $0.9918.Black Skunk Blues
  • Buy for $0.9919.Jacksonville Blues
  • Buy for $0.9920.She Shook Her Gin - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel: Robert "Barbecue Bob" Hicks (guitar); Nellie Florence (vocals); Curley Weaver (guitar); Buddy Moss (harmonica).
Producers: Richard Nevins, Don Kent, Stefan Grossman.
Includes liner notes by Don Kent and Stephen Calt.
Personnel: Barbecue Bob (guitar); Curley Weaver (guitar); Buddy Moss (harmonica).
Audio Remasterer: Richard Nevins.
Liner Note Authors: Don Kent; Stephen Calt.
Recording information: 1927-1930.
Unknown Contributor Role: Nellie Florence.
Although Robert "Barbecue Bob" Hicks recorded over 65 extant sides (three are not known to have survived) in a three-year stretch starting in 1927 up to his death in 1931, the 20 collected here make a perfect introduction to the work of this Atlanta-based artist. He may have played a big-city acoustic 12-string guitar, but Hicks' playing was provincial, down-home, and often modal, reducing any chord progression down to one or two chords. He also played embellishments on this instrument with a bottleneck, a rarity then and a rarity now. Usually tuned to an open chord, Barbecue Bob's playing nonetheless shows great diversity and musical flexibility. The 20 sides collected here (all off of old, scratchy 78s and cleaned up as well as can be expected) give a nice cross-section of that diversity as a solo artist, along with a pair of sides showcasing Bob in a small band context with Buddy Moss on harmonica and Curley Weaver on second guitar and another with Hicks backing up former gal pal Nellie Florence on a raucous "Jacksonville Blues." Of special merit for collectors are the inclusion of two previously unissued sides struck from slightly better sounding test pressings, "Twistin' Your Stuff" and "She Shook Her Gin." This expanded collection replaces the 14-track vinyl collection of the same name. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Barbecue Bob

Product Info

  • UPC: 016351200525
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)