Ian Anderson Thick as a Brick 2 (Special Edition) (CD+DVD)

Thick as a Brick 2 (Special Edition) (CD+DVD)
Price: $23.22
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $1.76 (7% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  QFSC
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 2, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Parlophone (Wea)

Entertainment Reviews:

Billboard (p.28) - "[H]e convincingly picks up where he left off four decades earlier, proving that there are still vital sonic statements to be made within the old-school prog-rock realm."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.83
3 stars out of 5 -- "The idea is always involving....Aimed squarely at the Jethro tull heartland, it's music made for the head..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.From a Pebble Thrown
  • 2.Pebbles Instrumental
  • 3.Might-Have-Beens
  • 4.Upper Sixth Loan Shark
  • 5.Banker Bets, Banker Wins
  • 6.Swing It Far
  • 7.Adrift and Dumfounded
  • 8.Old School Song
  • 9.Wootton Bassett Town
  • 10.Power and Spirit
  • 11.Give Till It Hurts
  • 12.Cosy Corner
  • 13.Shunt and Shuffle
  • 14.A Change of Horses
  • 15.Confessional
  • 16.Kismet in Suburbia
  • 17.What-ifs, Maybes and Might-have-beens

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.From a Pebble Thrown [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 2.Pebbles Instrumental [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 3.Might Have Beens [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 4.Upper Sixth Loan Shark [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 5.Banker Bets, Banker Wins [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 6.Swing It Far [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 7.Adrift and Dumfounded [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 8.Old School Song [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 9.Wootton Bassett Town [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 10.Power and Spirit [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 11.Give Till It Hurts [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 12.Cosy Corner [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 13.Shunt and Shuffle [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 14.A Change Of Horses [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 15.Confessional [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 16.Kismet In Suburbia [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 17.What-ifs, Maybes and Might-have-beens [5.1 DTS Mix] - (remix)
  • 18.From a Pebble Thrown (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 19.Pebbles Instrumental (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 20.Might Have Beens (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 21.Upper Sixth Loan Shark (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 22.Banker Bets, Banker Wins (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 23.Swing It Far (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 24.Adrift and Dumfounded (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 25.Old School Song (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 26.Wootton Bassett Town (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 27.Power and Spirit (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 28.Give Till It Hurts (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 29.Cosy Corner (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 30.Shunt and Shuffle (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 31.A Change Of Horses (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 32.Confessional (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 33.Kismet In Suburbia (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 34.What-ifs, Maybes and Might-have-beens (5.1 Dolby Digital)
  • 35.From a Pebble Thrown [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 36.Pebbles Instrumental [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 37.Might Have Beens [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 38.Upper Sixth Loan Shark [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 39.Banker Bets, Banker Wins [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 40.Swing It Far [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 41.Adrift and Dumfounded [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 42.Old School Song [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 43.Wootton Bassett Town [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 44.Power and Spirit [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 45.Give Till It Hurts [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 46.Cosy Corner [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 47.Shunt and Shuffle [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 48.A Change Of Horses [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 49.Confessional [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 50.Kismet In Suburbia [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 51.What-ifs, Maybes and Might-have-beens [24 Bit Stereo Mix] - (remix)
  • 52.The Making of Thick As a Brick 2 [Documentary]
  • 53.The Interviews
  • 54.Reading of the Lyrics

Product Description:

Personnel: Ian Anderson (vocals, acoustic guitar, flute); Ryan O'Donnell (vocals); Florian Opahle (electric guitar); Pete Judge (trumpet, flugelhorn, tenor horn); John O'Hara (piano, keyboards); David Goodier (glockenspiel, bass guitar); Scott Hammond (drums, percussion).
Some 40 years after the release of Jethro Tull's prog landmark Thick as a Brick, chief Tull Ian Anderson crafts a sequel. Sensibly titled Thick as a Brick 2, this 2012 set brings us up to speed with the life of Gerald Bostock, who was a mere lad of 10 at the time of TAAB but is now an adult shouldering a myriad of responsibilities. His disappointments and mild triumphs make him a different man than he was, yet underneath it all he's still that recognizable child, and the same can be said for Anderson's music: it's cleaner and streamlined, not as indulgent or idealistic as his younger work, boasting a more sensible structure, yet it still bears all of his signatures from the flute to rambling folk-rock. To criticize TAAB2 for not having a clear hook to pull you inside is unfair: Anderson is assuming a familiarity with his work, so he's giving himself time to write around the point, taking diversions wherever he finds them, sometimes in the form of eight-minute mini-suites, sometimes in the form of brief two-minute interludes. TAAB2 doesn't sound contemporary but it doesn't sound classic either -- it sounds caught between the two eras, as if it was recorded in 1990. That may turn off some listeners, but they're the kind who wouldn't spend any time with an Anderson album anyway. Those diehards who are still curious after all these years will find Thick as a Brick 2 an effective, if not quite compelling, sequel to a beloved classic. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ian Anderson

Product Info

  • UPC: 5099963872729
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)