Frank Sinatra A Voice In Time (1939-1952) (4-CD Box Set)

A Voice In Time (1939-1952) (4-CD Box Set)
25 ratings
12 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $44.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $5.24 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  XEW5
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.102
"What is here are the hits....[With] a bevy of rarities and radio transcriptions that find Frank skillfully handling such unlikely fare as 'No Love, Nothin' and 'The Trolley Song.'"

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.All or Nothing at All
  • 2.From the Bottom of My Heart
  • 3.If I Didn't Care
  • 4.Moon Love
  • 5.East of the Sun (And West of the Moon)
  • 6.I'll Be Seeing You
  • 7.Say It
  • 8.Blue Skies
  • 9.I'll Never Smile Again
  • 10.Fools Rush in (Where Angels Fear to Tread)
  • 11.This Love of Mine
  • 12.Oh, Look at Me Now!
  • 13.Just as Though You Were Here
  • 14.How About You?
  • 15.Imagination
  • 16.Frenesi
  • 17.Blue Moon
  • 18.Be Careful It's My Heart
  • 19.The Song Is You
  • 20.Night and Day

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.No Love, No Nothin'
  • 2.Saturday Night (Is the Loneliest Night in the Week)
  • 3.Oh! What It Seemed to Be
  • 4.You'll Never Know
  • 5.I've Got a Crush on You
  • 6.The Brooklyn Bridge
  • 7.Five Minutes More
  • 8.(It Seems to Me) I've Heard That Song Before
  • 9.The Trolley Song
  • 10.Time After Time
  • 11.Dream (When You're Feeling Blue)
  • 12.I Fall in Love Too Easily
  • 13.She's Funny That Way
  • 14.It's Been a Long, Long Time
  • 15.Dancing in the Dark
  • 16.I've Got You Under My Skin / Easy To Love
  • 17.Nancy (With the Laughing Face)
  • 18.Lover Come Back to Me
  • 19.Put Your Dreams Away (For Another Day)
  • 20.Again

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.All of Me
  • 2.Sweet Lorraine
  • 3.Body and Soul
  • 4.All the Things You Are
  • 5.Embraceable You
  • 6.These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
  • 7.Stormy Weather
  • 8.Begin the Beguine
  • 9.There Will Never Be Another You
  • 10.As Time Goes By
  • 11.The Nearness of You
  • 12.Stella by Starlight
  • 13.I Get a Kick Out of You
  • 14.That Old Black Magic
  • 15.One For My Baby (And One More For the Road)
  • 16.It Had to Be You
  • 17.What'll I Do?
  • 18.Laura
  • 19.September Song
  • 20.Ol' Man River

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Birth of the Blues
  • 2.April in Paris
  • 3.American Beauty Rose
  • 4.Lover
  • 5.The Continental
  • 6.Should I (Reveal)
  • 7.When You're Smiling (The Whole World Smiles With You)
  • 8.It All Depends on You
  • 9.Bye Bye Baby
  • 10.I Could Write a Book
  • 11.Autumn in New York
  • 12.If Only She'd Looked My Way
  • 13.Hello, Young Lovers
  • 14.We Kiss in a Shadow
  • 15.My Girl
  • 16.Love Me
  • 17.Farewell, Farewell to Love
  • 18.Walking in the Sunshine
  • 19.Why Try to Change Me Now
  • 20.I'm a Fool to Want You

Product Description:

Personnel: Frank Sinatra (vocals); Bobby Hackett (trumpet); Will Bradley (trombone).
Liner Note Authors: Didier C. Deutsch; Nancy Sinatra; Will Friedwald; Charles Granata.
Recording information: Hollywood, CA (07/13/1939-11/15/1952); New York, NY (07/13/1939-11/15/1952); Roseland Ballroom, New York, NY (07/13/1939-11/15/1952).
Photographer: William Gottlieb.
Arrangers: George Siravo; Henry Beau; Mitch Miller; Paul Weston; Percy Faith; Ray Conniff; Arthur Baker; Sy Oliver; Axel Stordahl; Fred Stulce.
Documenting the initial rise to fame of perhaps the 20th century's greatest male pop vocalist, this four-CD box set features 80 of Frank Sinatra's early big-band and solo recordings. Included are many of his 1939 and 1940 releases for the bandleaders Harry James and Tommy Dorsey, as well as hits such as "I'll Never Smile Again" and the wartime favorite "I'll Be Seeing You." Previously unreleased outtakes of "From the Bottom of My Heart" and "All the Things You Are" are also featured, as well as a variety of rare radio recordings from throughout the '40s. This is Sinatra at his early best, brimming with youthful confidence and romance on such classic sides as "Hello Young Lovers," "Embraceable You," and "April in Paris."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Frank Sinatra

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 67,797
  • UPC: 886970966924
  • Shipping Weight: 1.78/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)