James Brown The Singles, Volume 3: 1964-1965 (2-CD)

The Singles, Volume 3: 1964-1965 (2-CD)
2 ratings
13 copies available
Price: $26.98
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XESD
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Hip-O Select

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Please, Please, Please
  • Buy for $0.992.In the Wee Wee Hours (Of the Nite)
  • Buy for $0.993.Again
  • Buy for $0.994.How Long Darling
  • Buy for $0.995.Caldonia
  • Buy for $0.996.Evil
  • Buy for $0.997.The Things That I Used to Do
  • Buy for $0.998.Out of the Blue
  • Buy for $0.999.So Long
  • Buy for $1.2910.Dancin' Little Thing
  • Buy for $0.9911.Soul Food, Pt. 1
  • Buy for $0.9912.Soul Food, Pt. 2
  • Buy for $1.2913.Out of Sight
  • Buy for $0.9914.Maybe the Last Time
  • Buy for $1.2915.Tell Me What You're Gonna Do
  • Buy for $0.9916.I Don't Care
  • Buy for $0.9917.Think
  • Buy for $1.2918.Try Me

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Have Mercy Baby
  • Buy for $0.992.Just Won't Do Right (I Stay in the Chapel Every Night)
  • Buy for $0.993.Fine Old Foxy Self
  • Buy for $0.994.Medley: I Found Someone / Why Do You Do Me / I Want You So Bad: I Found Someone / Why Do You Do Me / I Want You So Bad
  • Buy for $1.295.This Old Heart
  • Buy for $0.696.It Was You
  • Buy for $0.997.Devil's Hideaway
  • Buy for $0.998.Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf
  • Buy for $0.999.I Got You - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2910.Only You - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $1.2911.Papa's Got a Brand New Bag, Pt. 1
  • Buy for $0.9912.Papa's Got a Brand New Bag, Pt. 2
  • Buy for $1.2913.Try Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.Papa's Got a Brand New Bag
  • Buy for $1.2915.I Got You (I Feel Good)
  • Buy for $1.2916.I Can't Help It (I Just Do-Do-Do)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Lost Someone
  • Buy for $0.9918.I'll Go Crazy

Product Description:

Personnel: James Brown (vocals, piano, organ); Al "Brisco" Clark (vocals, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Bobby Byrd (vocals, piano, organ, background vocals); Wallace Richardson, Alphonso "Country" Kellum, Eddie Freeman, Nafloyd Scott, Les Buie, Jimmy Nolen, Kenny Burrell (guitar); Mac Cephas (violin); Al Brown (viola); Kermit Moore (cello); Al Corley, Nat Jones, George Dorsey (alto saxophone); Eldee Williams, Cleveland Lowe, Ray Felder, J.C. Davis , Seldon Powell, St. Clair Pinckney (tenor saxophone); Charles Carr, Haywood Henry (baritone saxophone); Levi Rasbury, Joe Dupars, Robert Knight , Dud Bascomb, Johnny Grimes , Roosevelt Paul Brown, Lewis Hamlin, Roscoe Patrick, Teddy Washington, Mack Johnson, Ron Tooley (trumpet); Dicky Wells, Wilmer Milton (trombone); Alvin "Fats" Gonder, Ernie Hayes (piano, organ); Louis Madison (piano, background vocals); Sonny Thompson (piano); Panama Francis (drums, timpani); Melvin Parker, Clayton Fillyua, Clayton Fillyau, Edison Gore, Nat Kendrick, Reginald Hall (drums); Nashpendle Knox, Bill Hollings, Sylvester Keels, Maretha Stewart, Johnny Terry, Bobby Bennett (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Alan Leeds.
Recording information: Arthur Smith Studios, Charlotte, NC (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); Bell Sound, New York, NY (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); Beltone Studios, New York, NY (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); Criteria Studios, Miami, FL (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); Dukoff Studios, Miami, FL (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); King Studios, Cincinnati, OH (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); Master Recorders, Los Angeles, CA (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); Rodel Studios, Washington DC (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); The Apollo, New York, NY (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); United Studios, Hollywood, CA (02/04/1956-09/10/1965); Universal Studios, Chicago, IL (02/04/1956-09/10/1965).
Arrangers: James Brown; Nat Jones; Sammy Lowe.
Hip-O Selects' James Brown THE SINGLES series is a dream come true for record collectors and Brown fanatics. The series collects Mr. Dynamite's singles in the order in which they were issued, providing a historical chronology of the sequence of 45s.
VOLUME 3: 1964-1965 finds Brown at a crossroads in his career. About to leave behind classic soul (as captured on Volumes 1 and 2), Brown experimented with blues and other styles, before discovering the funkier edge he'd pioneer on singles like "I Got You" and "Papa's Got a Brand New Bag" (which appear toward the end of the second disc). Brown also had label disputes during this time, so the set includes versions of classics like "Try Me" and "Maybe the Last Time" from competing labels.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,498
  • UPC: 602517307827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)