Grateful Dead Veneta, OR 08/27/72 (The Complete Sunshine Daydream Concert) (4-LPs-180GV)

Veneta, OR 08/27/72 (The Complete Sunshine
124 ratings
Price: $64.95 + $5 shipping & handling
List Price: $79.98
You Save: $15.03 (19% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  Vinyl LP  (4 Records)
sku:  GDP 5360311
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 4
  • Released: September 13, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Grateful Dead Productions

Description by

On August 27, 1972, fresh off their now-legendary European tour, the Grateful Dead traveled to Veneta, Oregon and reunited with the Merry Pranksters to throw a benefit concert for the Kesey family's Springfield Creamery. The show, which was recorded and filmed but never released, has since become the most-requested live show in Grateful Dead history. The concert which is considered to be the Merry Pranksters last "Acid Test" offers a snapshot of the band at the peak of its playing prowess and features the classic lineup of: Jerry Garcia, Donna Jean Godchaux, Keith Godchaux, Bill Kreutzmann, Phil Lesh and Bob Weir. The setlist that day included memorable performances of "Sugaree," "Deal," "Black-Throated Wind," "Greatest Story Ever Told," "Bird Song" and a mind-melting version of "Dark Star" that stretches over 30 minutes. Mixed & mastered by Jeffrey Norman from the original 16-track tapes.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Introduction 4:01
  • 2.Promised Land 3:23
  • 3.Sugaree 7:30
  • 4.Me and My Uncle 3:05
  • 5.Deal 4:42
  • 6.Black-Throated Wind 7:01
  • 7.China Cat Sunflower 7:58
  • 8.I Know You Rider 6:06

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Mexicali Blues 4:44
  • 2.Bertha 5:58
  • 3.He's Gone 8:53
  • 4.Playing In The Band 19:06
  • 5.Jack Straw 5:03

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Bird Song 13:15
  • 2.Greatest Story Ever Told 5:32
  • 3.Dark Star... 22:45

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1....Dark Star 8:58
  • 2.El Paso 5:04
  • 3.Sing Me Back Home 10:29
  • 4.Sugar Magnolia 8:51
  • 5.Casey Jones 6:25
  • 6.One More Saturday Night 5:03

Similar Products

Get Email Alerts for Grateful Dead

Product Info

  • UPC: 081227964986
  • Shipping Weight: 0.50/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)