Listen, Whitey! The Sounds of Black Power 1967-1974
by Various Artists

Listen, Whitey! The Sounds of Black Power
3 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XEXY
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: February 27, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Light In The Attic

Entertainment Reviews:

Billboard (p.102) - "[The second half] examines militant preachers and the importance of black radio, especially highlighting the groundbreaking work of Gary Byrd..."


  • 1.Invitation to Black Power, Pts. 1-2 - Shahid Quintet
  • 2.Free Huey - Stokely Carmichael
  • 3.Silent Majority [Live at Newport] - Eddie Harris / Gene McDaniels
  • 4.Until We're Free - Elaine Brown
  • 5.George Jackson [Acoustic Version] - Bob Dylan
  • 6.Dem Niggers Ain't Playing - Watts Prophets
  • 7.Woman of the Ghetto [Live at Montreux] - Marlena Shaw
  • 8.Black Power - Dick Gregory
  • 9.I Ain't Black - Kain
  • 10.I Hate the White Man - Roy Harper
  • 11.Winter in America [Solo Version] - Gil Scott-Heron
  • 12.Tim Leary - Eldridge Cleaver (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Angela - John Lennon / Yoko Ono
  • 14.Free Bobby Now - The Lumpen
  • 15.Die Nigga!!! - The Original Last Poets / The Last Poets
  • 16.Who Will Survive America - Amiri Baraka

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: John Baldwin .
Liner Note Author: Pat Thomas .
Listen, Whitey! The Sounds of Black Power 1967-1974 takes its title from the B-side of a 1972 Folkways release -- a half-hour documentation of reactions to the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Anyone offended or amused by the title should consider what might prompt the exclamation. The disc was released around the same time as an accompanying 200-page book that is rich with photos, record-sleeve scans, and text. Much of the music covered in the book, such as Detroit's Tribe organization, Eddie Kendricks' People...Hold On, and Kuumba Toudie-Heath's Kawaida, does not appear on the disc, but there is a bounty of rare material, none of which should ever be inaccessible again. Three selections come from Motown subsidiary Black Forum, including Stokely Carmichael's "Free Huey" -- an excerpt from a 1968 speech that covers the genocide of Native Americans, defense of activist H. Rap Brown, and "patience with our people" as a means of empowerment -- and the phenomenal song "Until We're Free," recorded by Elaine Brown a year prior to her becoming the leader of the Black Panther Party. Many other prominent figures, including the in-exile Eldridge Cleaver and the pointedly humorous Dick Gregory, along with pioneering firebrand groups the Last Poets and Watts Prophets, are present with other highlights. Tributes to George Jackson and Angela Davis, from Bob Dylan and John & Yoko/Plastic Ono Band, as well as the un-ironic "I Hate the White Man" -- from English folk musician Roy Harper -- represent the contributions from non-black sources. This disc, containing a thick booklet full of images and illuminating text (provided by author and compiler Pat Thomas), is a crucial piece of U.S. history that is deeply resonant in the present. The same thing can be said of the book. ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,189
  • UPC: 826853008129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)