Alfred Apaka The Lost Recordings of Hawaii's Golden Voice

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.0
2 ratings
Only 5 copies left
List Price: $15.98
Your Price: $14.38
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HAH 32000

CD Details

  • Released: July 13, 1999
  • Label: Hana Ola Records


  • 1.Nalani
  • 2.Haunani
  • 3.Hawaiian Hula Eyes
  • 4.Makalapua
  • 5.Moon of the Southern Seas
  • 6.Twilight in Hawaii
  • 7.Two Shadows of the Sand
  • 8.Na Molokama
  • 9.Across the Sea
  • 10.Cast Your Cares to the Tradewinds
  • 11.Na Moku Eha
  • 12.Waipo
  • 13.When the Angels Placed a Lei Around Hawaii
  • 14.Hawaiian Style
  • 15.To You, Sweetheart, Aloha
  • 16.Aloha Oe

Product Description:

A collection of Alfred Aholo Apaka's early recordings from 1945-1950. On tracks 1-5, Apaka is featured with Randy Oness' Select Hawaiian Serenaders. On tracks 6-7, Apaka is featured with Al Kealoha Perry & His Singing Surfriders. The remaining selections feature Alfred Apaka & His Hawaiians.
Personnel: Alfred Apaka (vocals); Alvin Kaleolani Isaacs (vocals, guitar); Tommy Castro (vocals, steel guitar, vibraphone); Randy Oness' Select Hawaiian Serenaders (vocals, ukulele, clarinet); Pua Almeida (steel guitar).
Audio Remasterer: Bill Lacey.
Liner Note Author: Harry B. Soria, Jr.
Recording information: Hawaii.
Arrangers: Alvin Kaleolani Isaacs; Randy Oness' Select Hawaiian Serenaders; Benny "Kapena" Kalama.
Hawaii's Golden Voice captures a set of previously unreleased recordings by legendary Hawaiian baritone Alfred Aholo Apaka. Sounding more like a classic pop vocalist from the '40s than a specifically Hawaiian artist, Apaka regardless is backed by a loungy version of Hawaiian music on this album, which is a combination of new and traditional songs. He sings in both Hawaiian and English here, and while listening it's easy to imagine his warm, smooth, syrupy voice washing over legions of stressed out post-war visitors in the Hawaiian tourist hotels where he got his start. Despite being a commercial success who many critics believed would eventually cross over into the mainstream completely and become a pop star, his career unfortunately ended fairly early, leaving few recordings, and thus making this one even more of a treasure. ~ Stacia Proefrock

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:

Product Info:

  • UPC: 787258320028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item