Bauls Of Bengal Bauls of Bengal Mystic Songs from India

Bauls of Bengal Mystic Songs from India
1 rating
Only 6 copies left
Price: $13.49
List Price: $14.99
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XG4K
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 31, 2006
  • Label: Arc Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.60
"[The album] vividly captures their ethereal music, which is principally vocal with embellishments from the Dotara, a fretless lute, and various types of percussion instruments."


  • 1.Doya Kore Esho
  • 2.Ke Banalo Emon
  • 3.Guru Dohai Tomar
  • 4.Maran Karo Kotha Shone Na
  • 5.O Ghate Kam Kumbhirer
  • 6.Ore Pirite Banaichhe Boiraghini
  • 7.Gour Lilar Bajare
  • 8.Koriya Chaturi More
  • 9.Elore Patal Gadi
  • 10.Nona Gange Namaio Na
  • 11.Jodi Mishte Chao
  • 12.Monpakhike Dile Phanki
  • 13.Ghore Kopat Dao
  • 14.Emon Koler Baksho

Product Description:

Part of the extraordinarily extensive catalog of recordings from the travels of Deben Bhattacharya, this album of Baul music was recorded shortly before the death of the ethnomusicologist in 2001. The music ranges from sparse vocal runs to fuller instrumental arrangements. The vocal style of the Bauls is almost always a heartfelt, almost shouting form. It suits the music well in general, but can become a bit monotonous after long stretches. The instrumentation is the standard stuff for the area: gichaks, tombaks, etc. There are some hidden treats buried within the album as various street musicians and the like get their chance to show off their chops. Almost all of the tracks are actually the work of three singers: Robi Das Baul, Nikhil Das Baul, and Jaganath Hajra. Robi is probably the standout here, effective and ethereal with only a bit of accompaniment. That said, there's also a single track from Narottam Fakir with some exceptional dhrupad-like vocals. Worth a shot if one is generally curious about the music of the Bauls, though there are more notable figures on the scene here and there already. ~ Adam Greenberg

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 743037192323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)