Dropkick Murphys Going Out in Style [Live at Fenway Edition] (2-CD)

Going Out in Style [Live at Fenway Edition] (2-CD)
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $15.28
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.20 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $2.78 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XFSR
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 13, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Dropkick Murphys

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.75
3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[With the] full-fathom burner 'Peg o' My Heart,' a sweet, boozy love song with guest vocals by another guy who takes no quarter: Bruce Springsteen."
Alternative Press - pp.114-115
4 stars out of 5 -- "[R]azor-sharp tracks that celebrate everything from Bobby Orr and Beantown to Minor Threat and Agnostic Front."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Hang `Em High
  • 2.Going Out In Style
  • 3.The Hardest Mile
  • 4.Cruel
  • 5.Memorial Day
  • 6.Climbing a Chair To Bed
  • 7.Broken Hymns
  • 8.Deeds Not Words
  • 9.Take `Em Down
  • 10.Sunday Hardcore Matinee
  • 11.1953
  • 12.Peg O' My Heart
  • 13.The Irish Rover

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Hang `Em High
  • 2.Sunday Hardcore Matinee
  • 3.Deeds Not Words
  • 4.Going Out In Style
  • 5.The Irish Rover
  • 6.Peg O' My Heart
  • 7.Tessie
  • 8.Cruel
  • 9.Climbing a Chair To Bed
  • 10.Take `Em Down
  • 11.Devil's Brigade
  • 12.Boys On the Docks
  • 13.Darcy
  • 14.State of Massachusetts
  • 15.Kiss Me I'm Sh*tfaced
  • 16.Time To Go
  • 17.I'm Shipping Up To Boston
  • 18.Tnt

Product Description:

Personnel: James Lynch (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar); Tim Brennan (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, whistle, accordion); Jeff DaRosa (vocals, banjo, bouzouki, mandolin, whistle, harmonica); Ken Casey (vocals, bass guitar); Matt Kelly (vocals, drums); Al Barr (vocals); Emma Casey (violin, background vocals); The Parkington Sisters (strings, background vocals); Scruffy Wallace (whistle, bagpipe); Christine Sullivan, Liam Casey, Jen Clarke, Kevin Rheault, Joe Gittleman, Taylor London, Sean Sullivan, Jr., Sandi Larner, Marianne Burke, Jen Casey, Evan Tolonan, Diana Brennan, Christine McMahon, Brady Sullivan, Sean Sullivan (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Ryan Mall; Michael "Mo" Lapierre; Ted Hutt.
Illustrator: "Uncle" Pete Macphee.
Photographer: Ilya Mirman.
While pop/rock's pantheon of concept characters is topped by incredible and outlandish characters like Ziggy Stardust and Tommy, the truth is that Cornelius Larkin -- war veteran, working-class hero, and the fictional centerpiece of Dropkick Murphys' seventh studio album, Going Out in Style -- would likely outfight and outdrink them. A concept album, the record tells the story of the life, love, and death of a rough-and-tumble Irish immigrant, even going so far as to include an obituary in the liner notes. Musically, the album doesn't stray far from the sound the band has developed over the years, which definitely isn't a bad thing. With their fusion of Celtic and punk, Dropkick Murphys have set themselves far enough apart from the bulk of punk rock that changing anything would feel disingenuous. Instead, the band freshens things up with the bold (and rare) choice of making a punk rock concept album. This narrative element really works for Dropkick Murphys, adding another layer of thematic unity that complements their sonic vision wonderfully. Going Out in Style also finds the band pulling out all the stops with a handful of guests lending their vocals to the band's freewheeling anthems. Comedian and Rescue Me cast member Lenny Clarke drops in on "Going Out in Style" along with NOFX's Fat Mike and the Living End's Chris Cheney. The most surprising guest, however, arrives on "Peg o' My Heart," where the Boss himself, Bruce Springsteen, shows up to deliver a verse. With its combination of driving Celtic punk and strong narrative, Going Out in Style finds Dropkick Murphys succeeding on multiple levels, delivering an album that's not only fun to pump your fists and sing along to, but also one that rewards repeated listens with its storytelling, making it an album that's just as fun through headphones as it is when played at maximum volume in the car. ~ Gregory Heaney

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Dropkick Murphys

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,038
  • UPC: 075597962581
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)