Mary Black By the Time It Gets Dark

By the Time It Gets Dark
10 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XFSH
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Mary Black ~ Circus ~ $17.16
  • by Mary Black ~ Shine ~ $17.16

CD Details

  • Released: September 1, 1994
  • Label: Gift Horse


  • 1.By the Time It Gets Dark
  • 2.Schooldays Over
  • 3.Once in a Very Blue Moon
  • 4.Farewell Farewell
  • 5.Sparks Might Fly
  • 6.Katie
  • 7.Leaving the Land
  • 8.There Is a Time
  • 9.Jamie
  • 10.Leaboys Lassie
  • 11.Trying to Get the Balance Right
  • 12.Moon River - (bonus track)
  • 13.Don't Explain - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Mary Black (vocals); Declan Sinnott (acoustic & slide guitars, synthesizer, background vocals); John Sheehan (violin); Una Ni Chauiainn, Caroline Lavelle (cello); Pat Crowley (accordion, piano, Fender Rhodes, synthesizer, background vocals); Carl Geraghty (soprano saxophone); Garvan Gallagher (acoustic & electric bass); Noel Bridgeman (percussion); Mandy Murphy, Honor Heffernan (background vocals).
Recorded at Lansdowne Studios, Dublin, Ireland in summer, 1987, and live at the Cork Opera House, Ireland on May 23, 1993.
Includes two live tracks, "Moon River" and "Don't Explain," that weren't on the original release.
Personnel: Mary Black (vocals); Declan Sinnott (guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, Spanish guitar, synthesizer); John Sheehair, John Sheehan (violin); Una Ni Chuioius (cello); Pat Crowley (accordion, piano, synthesizer); Carl Geraghty (soprano saxophone); Garvan Gallagher (double bass); Noel Bridgeman (congas, claves).
Recording information: Cork Opera House (??/??/1987-05/23/1993); Lansdowne Studios, Dublin, Ireland (??/??/1987-05/23/1993).
Photographer: Colm Henry.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Mandy Murphy; Honor Hefferncur; Caroline LaVelle.
One of the leading Irish singers, Mary Black has popularized Irish folk music on a global level. Her folksy style and silken voice have captured the hearts of listeners since the early '80s. Lauded as one of the best interpretive singers of her generation, Black continues to create her serene brand of music, selling a huge amount of albums worldwide.
On 1987's BY THE TIME IT GETS DARK, Black teams up once again with long time associate Declan Sinnott to explore the lyrical beauty and poetic subtlety of such songs as "Once in a Very Blue Moon," "Leaving the Land," and "Trying to Get the Balance Right." This album sees Black extending her repertoire, adding songs by the likes of Richard Thompson and Sandy Denny to her set list. However, on all of the material here, Mary Black brings her own unique Irish combination of the ethereal and the earthy.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mary Black

Product Info

  • UPC: 739341001321
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)