Hariprasad Chaurasia Maestro of the Indian Flute (2-CD)

Maestro of the Indian Flute (2-CD)
12 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XFRX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Times Square Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Raga Pahadi - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)
  • Buy for $0.992.Anand: Based on Raga Bhairavi - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)
  • 3.Exuberance: Based on Raga Shivanjani - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)
  • 4.Baga Jhinjhoti - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)
  • 5.Dhun Sindhi Bhairavin - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Raga Bageshwari - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)
  • Buy for $0.992.Raga Mishra Pilu - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)
  • 3.Raga Gujri Todi - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)
  • 4.Raga Latangi - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)
  • Buy for $0.995.Dun 'Vaishnava Jan to Tene Kahiye' - (with Hariprasad Chaurasia)

Product Description:

Personnel: Sunil Kaushik, Jayantilal Gosher, Brij Bhushan Kabra (guitar); Shivkumar Sharma (santur); Debopriya Chatterjee, Sachismita Chatterjee, Smt. Anuradha Chaurasia (tanpura); Kashinath Mishra, Zakir Hussain, Vijay Ghate (tabla).
The two-CD Maestro of the Indian Flute compilation has more than two hours of recordings by Hariprasad Chaurasia spanning 1967-1994. Most of the pieces are ragas, and most are lengthy, with none shorter than five minutes, and one, "Raga Latangi," lasting almost half an hour. Divided into thematic "Innovations" and "Traditions" CDs, the tracks put the flute virtuoso in a pleasing variety of settings, though usually the mood is serene. Too, the instrumental setup usually sticks to flute, tabla, and tanpura, though guitar is also heard on all the selections on the "Innovations" disc; a santoor is used on "Raga Jinjhoti"; and zither graces a few of the ragas on the "Traditions" part of the program. While Chaurasia's career has been so extensive that even such a relatively lengthy disc can only offer a small slice of his recorded repertoire, this collection does well to provide a satisfying sampling of his work within its space limitations. Liner notes in English and French provide some very basic details of his career and commentary on each track. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Hariprasad Chaurasia

Product Info

  • UPC: 738572906528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)