Chick Corea Continents: Concerto for Jazz Quintet & Chamber Orchestra (2-CD)

Continents: Concerto for Jazz Quintet & Chamber
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  XG74
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: February 7, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Africa
  • 2.Europe
  • 3.Australia
  • 4.America
  • 5.Asia
  • 6.Antarctica

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Lotus Blossom
  • 2.Blue Bossa
  • 3.What's This?
  • 4.Just Friends
  • 5.Solo Continuum 31
  • 6.Solo Continuum 42
  • 7.Solo Continuum 53
  • 8.Solo Continuum 64
  • 9.Solo Continuum 75
  • 10.Solo Continuum 86
  • 11.Solo Continuum 97
  • 12.Solo Continuum 108
  • 13.Solo Continuum 119
  • 14.Solo Continuum 1310
  • 15.Solo Continuum 1411

Product Description:

Personnel: Chick Corea (piano); Tim Garland (flute, bass clarinet, soprano saxophone); Steve Davis (trombone); Marcus Gilmore (drums).
Liner Note Author: Chick Corea.
Recording information: Manhattan Center Studios, NYC.
Photographer: John Rogers .
The two-disc Corea: The Continents Concerto for Jazz Quintet and Chamber Orchestra features pianist Chick Corea performing with his combo and orchestra. The first disc features Corea's six-part composition conceptualized around Africa, the Americas, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, and Europe. While Corea's small group features such players as trombonist Steve Davis, saxophonist Tim Garland, bassist Hans Glawischnig, and drummer Marcus Gilmore, Corea is also backed by a handpicked orchestra conducted by Steve Mercurio and including members of the Harlem String Quartet and Imani Winds. This is truly a forward-thinking ensemble that can deftly fuse intricately arranged orchestral passages with more improvisatory jazz sections. The second disc features an extended solo piano series as well as several standards featuring Corea and his small group. ~ Matt Collar

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Chick Corea

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 95,212
  • UPC: 028947901112
  • Shipping Weight: 0.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)