Altan The Best of Altan: The Songs

The Best of Altan: The Songs
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  XG6Q
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 16, 2003
  • Label: Narada


  • 1.Girl from the North Country
  • 2.Beidh Aonach Am rach (There's a Fair Tomorrow)
  • 3.Green Grow the Rushes
  • 4.S£il Ghorm
  • 5.Gleanntain Ghlas Ghaoth Dobhair
  • 6.Molly Na gCuach N¡ Chuillean in
  • 7.I Wish My Love Was a Red Red Rose
  • 8.Cuach Mo Lon Dubh Bui
  • 9.The Pretty Young Girl
  • 10.Ar Bhruach Na Carraige B ine
  • 11.Eoghain¡n O Ragad in
  • 12.Ten Thousand Miles
  • 13.'St¢r, A St¢r, A Ghr 
  • 14.A Moment in Time

Product Description:

Altan: Mairead Ni Mhaonaigh (vocals, fiddle); Mark Kelly, Daithi Sproule (guitar, background vocals); Ciaran Curran (bouzouki); Ciaran Tourish (fiddle, whistle, background vocals); Dermot Byrne (accordion).
Additional personnel: Jerry Douglas (dobro); Mike Kinsella (harmonica); James Hutchinson, Steve Cooney (bass); Jimmy Higgins (bodhran).
Personnel: Anna N¡ Mhaonaigh (vocals); Jerry Douglas (dobro); D¢nal Lunny (bouzouki); Mike Kinsella (harmonica); Richie Buckley (saxophone); Jimmy Higgins (bodhran); Paul Brady (background vocals).
Translator: Francis Mooney.
Arrangers: Ciar n Tourish; Da¡th¡ Sproule; D¢nal Lunny; Kelly; Mair‚ad N¡ Mhaonaigh; Ciar n Curran; Byrne.
Altan has reached a point in its career where the band could conceivably exist off of the endless repackaging of its collected works. After nine solid albums of Celtic wizardry, they show no signs of slowing down, and seem the likely candidate to usurp the throne currently occupied by the Chieftains. The Best of Altan: The Songs is an anthology of their non-instrumental work from their four records on the Virgin label. Each track features the heavenly voice of fiddler Maighread N¡ Mhaonaigh and the lush instrumentation that has won the band international acclaim. Highlights include the rousing "Beidh Aonach Am rach" and the Robert Burns classic "Green Grow the Rushes." Though true fans will miss the inclusion of material from their five Green Linnet releases, The Best of Altan: The Songs is a moving anthology from one of Celtic music's most groundbreaking groups. ~ James Christopher Monger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Altan

Product Info

  • UPC: 724359302720
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)