Maria De Barros Nha Mundo (My World)

Nha Mundo (My World)
6 ratings
Price: $12.05
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  XG6E
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 6, 2003
  • Label: EMI Mod Afw


  • 1.Riberonzinha
  • 2.Cabo Verde N'ot Era
  • 3.Regresa
  • 4.Djabraba Nha Terra Natal
  • 5.Nha Primero Lar
  • 6.Mi Nada Um Ca Tem
  • 7.La Gloria Eres Tu
  • 8.So Um Melodia
  • 9.Nao Nhu
  • 10.Triste Agonia
  • 11.Nha Mundo
  • 12.Manha de Carnaval

Product Description:

Personnel: Maria de Barros (background vocals); Ismael Gallegos (vocals); Dicki Tavares, Djoska Lopes, Joony Booth, Grecco Buratto (guitar, cavaquinho); Ram¢n Stagnaro (guitar); Sarkis Gyurgchyan, Joe Ketendjian, Ana Landauer, Eric Gorfain, Hakop Mekinian, Igor Kiskatchi, Marina Manukian (violin); Jorge Moraga, Harry Shirinian (viola); Giovanna Moraga Clayton (cello); Ron Kalina (harmonica); Frank Morrocco (accordion); Leo Chelyapov (clarinet); Ray Herrmann (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ramon Flores (trumpet); Eric Jorgensen (trombone); Carlos "Kal£" Monteiro (drums, background vocals); Rafael Padilla (percussion); Francis Ben¡tez, Kenny O'Brien, Leyla Hoyle, Djim Job (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Mauricio Guerrero.
Recording information: KO Studios, Granada Hills, CA; L&M Music Studios, Tarzana, CA; Red Sky Music And Sound, Los Angeles, CA; SoundAbout Stdios, Van Nuys, CA; SoundStation 7, Providence, RI.
Arranger: Danny Luchansky.
Although she was born in nearby Senegal, Maria de Barros has made her musical home in Cape Verde, where she brings her warm, sensual voice and original creative vision to bear on the mornas and coladeiras of her adopted home and on the boleros and sambas that came to the islands from Brazil and the Caribbean. Those who are already familiar with the singing of C‚saria ?vora and Susana Baca will see similar influences at work here, but de Barros' gently compelling style is uniquely her own. Backed up by a mostly acoustic band of guitars, accordions, percussion, and what sounds like a Portuguese guitarra, de Barros weaves a complex tapestry of rhythms and melodies that varies from the reggae-flavored "Riberonzinha" to the bouncing Afro-Cuban hesitation-step of "Regresa," finally culminating in the album's emotional centerpiece, a simple, joyful, and stunningly beautiful song entitled "So Um Melodia." It is difficult to imagine anyone not being completely entranced by this sometimes bittersweet but ultimately joyous album. Very highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 724359162829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)