Buddy Guy Can't Quit the Blues (3-CD)

Can't Quit the Blues (3-CD)
36 ratings
19 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $44.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $5.24 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  XGK7
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: October 31, 2006
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.110
Ranked #7in Rolling Stone's "The Top 10 Reissues Of 2006" -- "[W]ith that slicking guitar and fierce bark, he rules his roost the whole way."
Down Beat - p.80
3 stars out of 5 -- "As time passed, Guy ratcheted up the sonic properties of his guitar, connecting blues with the rock mainstream..."
Dirty Linen - p.43
"[N]early every track on the second and third discs burns with intensity. Check out his versions of John Lee Hooker's 'Crawlin Kingsnake' and Lowell Fulsom's 'Tramp'..."
No Depression - p.79
"[H]is leads soar with exuberant and imaginative directionality..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Way You Been Treating Me
  • 2.Sit and Cry (The Blues)
  • 3.This Is the End
  • 4.Untitled Instrumental
  • 5.First Time I Met the Blues
  • 6.Ten Years Ago
  • 7.Let Me Love You Baby
  • 8.Stone Crazy
  • 9.When My Left Eye Jumps
  • 10.Hoodoo Man Blues
  • 11.In the Wee Hours
  • 12.I Can't Quit the Blues
  • 13.One Room Country Shack
  • 14.T-Bone Shuffle
  • 15.When You See the Tears From My Eyes
  • 16.I Smell a Rat
  • 17.She Suits Me to a T
  • 18.DJ Play My Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Damn Right, I've Got the Blues
  • 2.Mustang Sally
  • 3.Five Long Years
  • 4.Mary Ann
  • 5.She's Nineteen Years Old
  • 6.Miss Ida B
  • 7.Feels Like Rain
  • 8.7-11
  • 9.I Smell Trouble
  • 10.Someone Else Is Steppin' in (Slippin' Out, Slippin' in)
  • 11.My Time After Awhile
  • 12.Your Mind Is on Vacation
  • 13.Midnight Train
  • 14.Totally Out of Control #

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Nobody Understands Me But My Guitar
  • 2.Baby Plaese Don't Leave Me
  • 3.Done Got Old
  • 4.Honey Bee
  • 5.Tramp
  • 6.Crawlin' Kingsnake
  • 7.Moanin' and Groanin'
  • 8.Bad Life Blues
  • 9.I Can't Be Satisfied
  • 10.First Time I Met the Blues
  • 11.I'd Rather Be Blind, Crippled & Crazy
  • 12.Somebody Sleeping in My Bed
  • 13.I Miss You
  • 14.Cut You Loose
  • 15.The Price You Gotta Pay

Product Description:

Personnel: Buddy Guy (guitar); Eric Clapton, Jonny Lang, Otis Rush, Phil Guy, B.B. King, Lefty Bates (guitar); Junior Wells (harmonica); Jarrett Gibson, Bob Neely (tenor saxophone); Donald Hankins (baritone saxophone); Dr. John, Pinetop Perkins (piano); Jack Meyers, Terry Taylor (bass guitar); Clifton James, Dallas Taylor , Fred Below, Jim Keltner, Odie Payne, Jr. (drums).
Born in 1936 and trained on a '50s Chicago blues scene that massively impacted rock & roll, Buddy Guy is perhaps the quintessential modern blues singer/guitarist. Guy's trademarks are a razor-sharp, seething electric guitar tone and anguished, soulful singing. The three-disc (plus DVD) set CAN'T QUIT THE BLUES presents many high points from his lengthy career. Although there are more songs from 1990 onwards than one might expect--with only disc one providing a cross-section of his tenures with the Chess, Vanguard, and Delmark labels--many would argue that Guy's work from '90 on is in fact some of his very best.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 36 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Buddy Guy

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 124,892
  • UPC: 828768196724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.87/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)