El DeBarge Second Chance

Second Chance
143 ratings
Price: $13.38
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $0.61 (4% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FYHJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Geffen Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Lay With You
  • Buy for $1.292.Heaven
  • Buy for $1.293.Close To You
  • Buy for $1.294.Format (featuring 50 Cent)
  • Buy for $1.295.When I See You
  • Buy for $1.296.How Can You Love Me
  • Buy for $1.297.Serenading
  • Buy for $1.298.5 Seconds (featuring Fabolous)
  • Buy for $1.299.Joyful
  • Buy for $1.2910.Sexy Lady
  • Buy for $1.2911.Sad Songs
  • Buy for $1.2912.The Other Side
  • Buy for $1.2913.Second Chance

Product Description:

Personnel: Gayle Levant (harp); Alyssa Park, John Wittenberg, Songa Lee, Nina Evtuhov, Katia Popov, Robin Olson, Henry Gronnier, Helen Nightengale, Ken Yerke, Tiffany Yi Hu, Phillip Levy , Sid Paige, Tamara Hatwan, Mario de Le¢n, Lily Ho Chen, Razdan Kuyumjian, Yelena Yegoryan, Gerardo Hilera, Jacqueline Brand , Roberto Cani, Bruce Dukov, Julie Gigante, Natalie Leggett, Sara Parkins, Robert Peterson, Sarah Thornblade, Josefina Vergara, Charlie Bisharat, Tereza Stanislav (violin); Jeanie Lim, Thomas Diener, Victoria Miskolczy, Aaron Oltman, Matthew Funes, Carole Kleister-Castillo, Robert Brophy , Brian Dembow (viola); Chris Bleth (alto flute, oboe); Paul Klintworth, Warren Leuning, Joe Meyer , Rick Baptist, William Frank "Bill" Reichenbach Jr. (horns).
Recording information: Capitol Studios; Flight Time Studios; Flyte Tyme STudios; House of Music; MAS Sounds Studio; Mischkemusic Studios; No Excuses; Oceanway Studios; Redstar Recording; Shelter Studios; Sly Doggie Studios; Sounds Studio; The Boiler Room; The Boom Boom Room; Unsung Studios.
Photographer: Christian Lantry.
El DeBarge was away longer than he was around. The first DeBarge album and the last El DeBarge album were separated by 13 years, and then 16 years passed between Heart, Mind & Soul and Second Chance. Apart from a handful of guest appearances during the latter half of the '90s and early 2000s, El was (to put it mildly) out of commission. So it's extraordinary that this, his fifth solo album, exists. It's something else that he's in top form. Working with an assortment of mostly complementary collaborators, including Ron Fair, Mike City, Jam & Lewis, and the Avila Brothers, El tends to stick to sweet love songs -- pleasurable, fresh updates of his tried and true approach. His voice remains capable of elevating substandard material, not that there is much of it here. The acrobatic falsetto and supple harmonies are as present as ever. While the first ten songs would have made for a strong return on their own, the final three put Second Chance over the top as one of the year's best R&B albums. The rippling "Sad Songs" and the sparse "The Other Side," two of the three songs written with Jam & Lewis, illustrate heartbreak while tapping into a vivid anguish that El had never before approached. They are both exceptionally poignant; anyone with the vaguest idea about the singer's struggles will hear them as more than just remorseful breakup songs. In this context, the closing "Second Chance" -- issued as the album's lead single -- sounds nothing short of triumphant. [Initial copies of the album, released in late November 2010, came with a three-song, Christmas-themed bonus disc.] ~ Andy Kellman

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 143 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for El DeBarge

Product Info

  • UPC: 602527501086
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)