Terry Knight and The Pack Terry Knight and The Pack / Reflections

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Terry Knight and The Pack / Reflections
10% OFF
Rating 3.2
4 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  COLC 21142
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: June 22, 2010
  • Label: Collector's Choice

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.85
4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t was on the haunting baroque-pop originals, such as 'I've Been Told' and 'Sleep Talkin'', plus punked-up 'Numbers', that the group shone brightest..."


  • 1.Numbers
  • 2.What's On Your Mind
  • 3.Where Do You Go
  • 4.You're A Better Man Than I
  • 5.Lovin' Kind
  • 6.The Shut-In
  • 7.Got Love
  • 8.A Change On The Way
  • 9.Lady Jane
  • 10.Sleep Talkin'
  • 11.I've Been Told
  • 12.I (Who Have Nothing)
  • 13.One Monkey Don't Stop No Show
  • 14.Love, Love, Love, Love, Love
  • 15.Come With Me
  • 16.Got To Find My Baby
  • 17.This Precious Time
  • 18.Anybody's Apple Tree
  • 19.The Train
  • 20.Dimestore Debutante
  • 21.Dirty Lady
  • 22.Love Goddess Of The Sunset Strip
  • 23.Forever And A Day
  • 24.(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Jeff Tamarkin.
Recording information: Audio Recording Studios, Cleveland, OH; Cameo-Parkway Studios, Philadelphia, PA.
Photographers: George Shuba; Mort Mace; Barry Edmunds.
This two-fer compiles the only two albums by Michigan's Terry Knight & the Pack; its self-titled 1966 debut and 1967's Reflections. Rock & roll collector's and Michigan rock aficionados have given these albums semi-legendary status simply because the lineup included the roots of Grand Funk Railroad -- Knight was the band's manager and producer until 1972, and both guitarist Mark Farner and drummer Don Brewer came from its ranks. These two recordings were originally issued on the Lucky Eleven imprint and were distributed by Cameo/Parkway who had scored a number one hit with "96 Tears" by ? and the Mysterians, another Michigan act. Knight's gift wasn't so much as a singer, but as a songwriter capable of aping the hitmakers of the day, and he knew how to arrange. This is born out on the first album's covers of Sonny Bono's "Where Do You Go," "You're a Better Man Than I" (a hit for the Yardbirds), and a particularly strange reading of the Rolling Stones' "Lady Jane." The single from the album was a reading of the Lieber & Stoller nugget "I (Who Have Nothing)." Knight's own tunes include the fuzz guitar-drenched album-opener "Numbers" was reminiscent of the Seeds, while "What's on Your Mind" walked a line between Georgie Fame and the Zombies. The band's second album, Reflections, opens with the whitest cover of Joe Tex's "One Monkey (Don't Stop No Show)" ever. It also includes a direct steal of Donovan's songwriting style and vocal phrasing, in Knight's "Dirty Lady," and Bob Dylan's early electric sound on "Dimestore Debutante." There are some real rockers here, too, in "Love, Love, Love, Love, Love," that's reminiscent of the Standells, the soul-inflected-cum-Association-influenced "This Train," and a unique garage psych cover of the Stones' "(I Can't No) Satisfaction." This may not be Michigan Rock at its finest, but it is an integral part of its history. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.2
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:


Product Info:

  • UPC: 617742211429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item