Alexandra Youth Choir South African Choral

South African Choral
5 ratings
Price: $11.69
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  FYX8
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Naxos

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 10/3/02, p.104
3 stars out of 5 - "...South African folk music brushed with touches of Southern gospel....its sheer unity turns every song into powerfully spiritual music."
Dirty Linen - 06-07/03, p.88
"...One hears influences from contemporary American and African pop and gospel music alongside ideas imported from European choral traditions..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Uyamemeza
  • Buy for $0.992.Wena Malindi Unngawami
  • Buy for $0.993.Kunothixo Omkhulu
  • Buy for $0.994.Wandibiza Umngoma
  • Buy for $0.995.Baba Baxolele
  • Buy for $0.996.Valani Ezongcango
  • Buy for $0.997.Shapa Kwasa Kwasa
  • Buy for $0.998.Iphi Imbiza Namhlanje
  • Buy for $0.999.Ene Eli Ntale
  • Buy for $0.9910.Redibini
  • Buy for $0.9911.Kemokete
  • Buy for $0.9912.Dumelang
  • Buy for $0.9913.Saka-Band
  • Buy for $0.9914.Lona Bontate
  • Buy for $0.9915.Intombi Ikhahlelu Sakazange
  • Buy for $0.9916.Nansi Lentombi
  • Buy for $0.9917.Ayo Ayo
  • Buy for $0.9918.I Want to See
  • Buy for $0.9919.Toffolux
  • Buy for $0.9920.Nkosi Sikelela

Product Description:

Features songs sung in Zulu, Sotho, English and Xhosa.
Personnel: Gloria Bosman (vocals); Phumzile Ntuli (soprano); Eero Koivistoinen (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Concord Nkabinde (bass guitar); Barry Van Zyl (drums); Tlale Makhene (percussion).
Audio Mixer: Peter Pearlson.
Recording information: M2 Studios, Radiopark, SABC (03/12/2002-03/19/2002).
Arrangers: Eero Koivistoinen; Concord Nkabinde.
On the world music front, the South African choral style has gotten a lot of exposure, but the uplifting Alexandra Youth Choir freshens things up a bit with dynamic vocal interplay and some sturdy rhythm players. This is a joyful, soprano- and alto-heavy congress of voices (with lesser accents of bass vocals) that sings in the Xhosa (which features percussive verbal clicks), Zulu, Sotho, and English languages. The album intersperses some impressive solos throughout the copious ensemble material. ~ Erik Hage

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Product Info

  • UPC: 636943702529
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)