Ladysmith Black Mambazo Ladysmith Black Mambazo & Friends (2-CD)

Ladysmith Black Mambazo & Friends (2-CD)
13 ratings
Only 5 copies left
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  E8QE
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: January 10, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Razor & Tie

Entertainment Reviews:

Paste (magazine) - "The music on LADYSMITH BLACK MAMBAZO AND FRIENDS covers a wide range of styles from note perfect renditions of R&B classics such as 'Chain Gang' and 'Ain't No Sunshine' to American gospel standards like 'People Get Ready' and 'Amazing Grace'..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Knocking on Heaven's Door
  • 2.Weeping
  • 3.Homeless
  • 4.Ain't No Sunshine
  • 5.Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes
  • 6.Shosholoza
  • 7.World in Union
  • 8.Passage to Promise
  • 9.Amazing Grace / Nearer My God to Thee
  • 10.Chain Gang
  • 11.Rain Rain Beautiful Rain
  • 12.Jabulani (Rejoice)
  • 13.Swing Low Sweet Chariot
  • 14.Bread of Heaven
  • 15.Dlondlobala Njalo [Soul Drummers Mix] - (remix)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Homeless
  • 2.Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes
  • 3.Hello My Baby
  • 4.People Get Ready
  • 5.Abezizwe (Uniting Nations Together) [D'Influence Mix] - (remix)
  • 6.Paradise Road
  • 7.One Blood
  • 8.Oh Happy Day
  • 9.River of Dreams
  • 10.Mbube
  • 11.I'll Take You There
  • 12.Inkanyezi Nezazi [Spiral Staircase Remix] - (remix)
  • 13.Sohlabelela Hosana
  • 14.Angimboni Ofana Naye
  • 15.Mamizolo

Product Description:

This two-disc set is both a good introduction to Ladysmith Black Mambazo and conversely an unbalanced one. Founded in the 1960s by Joseph Shabalala (who continues to lead the group), the South African a cappella gospel ensemble has been delighting audiences all over the world for some 50 years now as a primary act, but Ladysmith Black Mambazo's public profile rests more on their collaborations with other performers, most notably Paul Simon, whose Graceland album, which prominently featured their backup vocals, was most people's real introduction to the group. Which is why this fun set is unbalanced -- it collects 30 of those collaborations done over the years with the likes of Simon, Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, Sarah McLachlan, Taj Mahal, and a host of others, and while there's no denying it all adds up to a great and joyful listen, it only tells one part of the Ladysmith Black Mambazo story, delightful as that part is. Highlights include "Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes" from Simon's Graceland (there's also a version of the song here done with Melissa Etheridge and Joe McBride), a wonderful take on Sam Cooke's "Chain Gang" by the late Lou Rawls, and an equally wonderful version of Curtis Mayfield and the Impressions' "People Get Ready" from Phoebe Snow, but every track has the kind of bright spiritual soul that Ladysmith Black Mambazo bring to everything they do. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 100,652
  • UPC: 793018331128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)