John Fahey America

13 ratings
Price: $11.99
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  E8JV
Brand New

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Takoma

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 5/22/98, p.71
"...this set of chamber blues projects a sweeping panorama, combining epic originals with fractal readings of Skip James, Dvorak, and even 'Amazing Grace.' A new cornerstone in a towering oeuvre." - Rating: A


  • Buy for $0.991.Jesus Is a Dying Bedmaker - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.992.Amazing Grace - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.993.Song #3 - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.994.Special Rider Blues - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.995.Dvor k - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.996.Jesus Is a Dying Bedmaker 2 - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.997.Finale - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.998.America - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Dalhart, Texas, 1967 - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9910.Knoxville Blues
  • 11.Mark 1:15
  • 12.Voice of the Turtle
  • Buy for $0.9913.The Waltz That Carried Us Away and Then a Mosquito Came and Ate Up My Sweetheart

Product Description:

Solo performer: John Fahey (acoustic guitar).
Reissue producer: Bill Belmont.
Recorded at Larrabee Sound, Los Angeles, California on January 31, 1971. Includes liner notes by Charles M. Young and Bill Belmont.
Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California in 1998.
Personnel: John Fahey (guitar).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Author: Charles M. Young.
Recording information: Larrabee Sound, Los Angeles, CA (01/31/1971).
Arranger: John Fahey.
Upon its original release, America was a single album, due to Takoma's concerns about the record's commercial appeal. In 1998, the 1971 album was restored to its full double-album length, and the results are mighty impressive. Fahey always worked best with vast, spacious canvasses, and here he's able to draw musical portraits of America through quiet, meditative blues and folk. Although it's rooted in familiar forms, Fahey's music takes unpredictable paths, resulting in a truly enchanting album. ~ Thom Owens

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for John Fahey

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,691
  • UPC: 025218890328
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)