Norman Blake Live at McCabe's

Live at McCabe's
5 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  E8JK
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Takoma

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - 12/99-1/00, p.63
"...As a flatpicker, composer, and interpreter of old tunes, his reputation is justifiably captures Blake at the height of his guitar playing..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction By Nancy Covey
  • Buy for $0.992.Nine Pound Hammer
  • Buy for $0.993.Sweet Heaven When I Die
  • Buy for $0.994.Introducing Nancy Blake
  • Buy for $0.995.Border Widow
  • Buy for $0.996.G Medley: Green Leaf Fancy / Fields Of November / Fort Smith
  • Buy for $0.997.Dry Grass On The High Fields
  • Buy for $0.998.John Hardy
  • Buy for $1.299.Arkansas Traveler
  • Buy for $0.9910.Bully Of The Town / Bonaparte's Retreat / Richard Avenue Rag
  • Buy for $0.9911.Harvey's Reel

Product Description:

Personnel: Norman Blake (guitar, fiddle); Nancy Blake (cello).
Recorded live at MacCabe's Guitar Shop, Santa Monica, California. Includes liner notes by Bryan Kimsey.
Personnel: Norman Blake (vocals, guitar, fiddle); Nancy Blake (cello).
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Recording information: McCabe's Guitar Shop, Santa Mon; McCabes Guitar Shop, Santa Monica, CA.
Long cherished by Norman Blake's fans as one of the greatest flatpicking albums of all time, Live at McCabe's isn't as essential as some of the guitarist's studio records of the time (see Whiskey Before Breakfast), but there's a warm, ramshackle beauty about this concert that is every bit as charming. Originally released on Takoma in 1976, it was out of print for years before an overwhelming fan petition prompted a reissue of the album in 1999. The sound is marvelous and, as one would expect, there's a ton of fine flatpicking here, as well as a rare chance to hear Blake live and in his prime. Joined by then-wife Nancy on three cuts, Blake switches to fiddle for a few tunes, including the lovely "Border Widow." His rendition of "Nine Pound Hammer" is one of the best on record, and equally great is a loose arrangement of "Arkansas Traveler" that finds a number of other half melodies and improvisations darting in and out. Some of these tunes turned up on previous and later studio albums; some he would never record again. ~ Jim Smith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Norman Blake

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,404
  • UPC: 025218650625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)