Mike Auldridge Dobro / Blues and Bluegrass

Dobro / Blues and Bluegrass
5 ratings
13 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.56 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.42 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  E8JA
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Takoma


  • Buy for $0.991.Hillbilly Hula
  • Buy for $1.292.Tennessee Stud
  • Buy for $0.993.It's Over
  • Buy for $0.994.Pick Away
  • Buy for $0.995.Rollin' Fog
  • Buy for $0.996.Dobro Island
  • Buy for $0.997.Train
  • Buy for $0.998.Take Me
  • Buy for $0.999.Greensleeves
  • Buy for $1.2910.Silver Threads
  • Buy for $0.9911.Rock Bottom
  • Buy for $0.9912.Jamboree
  • Buy for $1.2913.House of the Rising Sun
  • Buy for $0.9914.New Camptown Races
  • Buy for $0.9915.Mexican Rose
  • Buy for $0.9916.Killing Me Softly With His Song
  • Buy for $0.9917.This Ain't Grass
  • Buy for $0.9918.8 More Miles to Louisville
  • Buy for $0.9919.The Sum of Marcie's Blues
  • Buy for $0.9920.Bottom Dollar
  • Buy for $0.9921.Struttin' the Blues
  • Buy for $0.9922.Panhandle Country
  • Buy for $0.9923.Summertime
  • Buy for $0.9924.Walk, Don't Run
  • Buy for $1.2925.Everybody Slides

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: DOBRO (1972)/BLUES & BLUEGRASS (1974).
Personnel includes: Mike Auldridge (vocals, guitar, dobro); Linda Rondstadt (vocals); Ben Eldridge (guitar, banjo); John Duffey, Doyle Lawson (guitar, mandolin); David Bromberg, Charlie Waller, John Starling, Ricky Skaggs, Paul Craft, Gerry Mule, Lowell George (guitar); Buck "Josh" Graves (dobro); Vassar Clements (fiddle); Tom Gray, Bill Yates, Steve Burgh, Tom Guidera (bass); Bob Lawrence (drums).
Recorded in New York, York and at Track Recorders, Washington, D.C. in 1972 & 1974. Includes liner notes by Norman Blake and John Crosby.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Mike Auldridge (vocals, guitar, dobro).
Recording information: New York, NY; Track Recorders, Washington DC.
This welcome reissue brings together the first two solo albums by Seldom Scene dobro player Mike Auldridge, each of which was groundbreaking in a different way. While "progressive bluegrass" was already a fully established musical convention by 1972, when Dobro was originally issued, instrumental bluegrass arrangements of material like "Greensleeves" and "House of the Rising Sun" were a bit unusual even in the progressive context, and, to be honest, were not quite as successful as his brilliantly flashy rendition of Lester Flatt's "Pickaway" or the weepy country standard "Silver Threads." The second album presented on this reissue, Blues & Bluegrass, is a bit more consistently rewarding. Most of the tracks are Seldom Scene performances in all but name, with the occasional addition of such stellar guests as Vassar Clements, Ricky Skaggs, and David Bromberg. This album veers happily between barnburning bluegrass ("New Camptown Races," "8 More Miles to Louisville") and soulful blues numbers ("Summertime," "Struttin' the Blues"), with occasional detours into sappy pop ("Killing Me Softly") and, believe it or not, surf-bluegrass fusion ("Walk Don't Run"). All of it manages to be lots and lots of fun. Highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Mike Auldridge

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 70,330
  • UPC: 025218891424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)