Natacha Atlas Best of Natacha Atlas

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
11 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  BQTI 81036
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: May 24, 2005
  • Label: Beggars Uk - Ada

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.89
"Besides her worldly warbling, the feisty Atlas' interpretations of Screamin' Jay Hawkins' 'I Put a Spell on You' and James Brown's '(It's a Man's Mans') Mans' World' take power back for the ladies>'


  • 1.Leyesh Nat-Arak
  • 2.Mon Amie la Rose
  • 3.Eye of the Duck
  • 4.Ezzay
  • 5.Fakrenha
  • 6.Mistaneek
  • 7.Leysh Nat'arak
  • 8.You Only Live Twice
  • 9.Yallah Chant
  • 10.Fun Does Not Exist
  • 11.I Put a Spell on You
  • 12.Man's World
  • 13.Amulet
  • 14.Kidda
  • 15.Leysh Nat' Arak
  • 16.Le Printemps

Product Description:

Personnel: Natacha Atlas (vocals); Sawt el Atlas, Tuup (vocals); Mike Nielsen (acoustic guitar, programming); Essam Rashad, Keith Clouston (oud); Yehia El Mougi, Samir Rashad (violin); Simon Walker (strings); David Arnold, Alex Kasiek, Timothy Whelan, Gamal Awad (keyboards); Larry Whelan (midi horn); Count Dubulah (bass guitar); Ashiqali Hussein (tabla); Hamid Mantu, Tim Garsaiddi (percussion); Transglobal Underground (programming); Neil Sparkes (unknown instrument); Abdel Ali Slimani (background vocals).
Arranger: David Arnold.
A well thought-out collection for both fans and newcomers, The Best of Natacha Atlas is one of those all too rare compilations with the artist's involvement. Atlas not only picked the songs, she's decided to update some of the older tracks with new vocals and other remix touches. This updating feels perfectly natural coming from an artist who blends traditional Middle Eastern music with beat-driven electronica, besides the fact it gives the established fan base a good reason to consider the collection. Exotic songs from her homeland sung over slick beats mix with Atlas' sensual and trippy interpretations of Western material and the running order sorts it all out nicely. What holds the collection together is Atlas' breathy but strong, so very sweet voice and the playful but respectful attitude she takes toward song selection. Her readings of "I Put a Spell on You" and "You Only Live Twice" are filled with so much genuine passion it's hard to consider it camp, but Atlas does add some levity to her heady musical surroundings with her high-spirited singing. That "Leysh Nat' Arak" appears in three different versions without wearing out its welcome should tell you something about how creative and inventive this artist can be. Don't stop here, but start here if you're unfamiliar with the talented, entrancing, and bold Natacha Atlas. ~ David Jeffries

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Natacha Atlas

Product Info:

  • UPC: 609008103623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item