Astrud Gilberto The Diva Series

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
8 ratings
List Price: $11.98
SALE PRICE: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  VRV 065214

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Verve


  • 1.Agua de Beber
  • 2.Bim Bom
  • 3.Tu Mi Delirio
  • 4.The Girl from Ipanema
  • 5.On My Mind
  • 6.Misty Roses
  • 7.Manha de Carnival
  • 8.Non-Stop to Brazil
  • 9.I Haven't Got Anything Better to Do
  • 10.Corcovado
  • 11.Eu e Voce (Me and You)
  • 12.The Gentle Rain
  • 13.So Nice (Summer Samba)
  • 14.Berimbau
  • 15.Once Upon a Summertime
  • 16.All That's Left Is to Say Goodbye
  • 17.Dindi
  • 18.Stay
  • 19.Canoeiro
  • 20.A Certain Sadness
  • 21.Canto de Ossanha

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Antonio Carlos Jobim (vocals, guitar); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Johnny Coles (trumpet); Kai Winding (trombone); Walter Wanderley (piano, organ); Joao Donato (piano); Joe Mondragon (bass); Milton Banana (drums).
Producers: Brooks Authur, Creed Taylor.
Compilation producer: Bryan Koniarz.
Recorded between 1964 & 1969. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
This is part of Verve's Diva Series.
Personnel: Antonio Carlos Jobim (vocals, guitar, piano); Joao Gilberto (vocals, guitar); Linda November, David Omar White, Maretha Stewart, Brooks Arthur (vocals); Toots Thielemans (whistling, guitar, harmonica); Sal DiTroia, Kenny Burrell, Marcos Valle, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Dom Um Romao (berimbau, percussion); Margaret Ross (harp); Leo Kruczek, George Ockner, Joseph Haber, Arnold Eidus, Louis Stone, Paul Winter Consort, Harry Katzman, Gene Orloff, Harry Lookofsky (violin); Dave Schwartz, Dave Mankovitz, Archie Levin, Seymour Berman, Richard Dickler, Harold Coletta (viola); Maurice Bialkin, Harry Wimmer, Maurice Brown , Seymour Barab, Charles McCracken , Harvey Shapiro , Alan Shulman, George Ricci (cello); Seldon Powell (flute, saxophone); Hubert Laws, Bud Shank (flute); Bill Hammond, Phil Bodner, Stan Webb (woodwinds); Joseph Firrantello, Leon S. Cohen (saxophone); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Marvin Stamm (trumpet, flugelhorn); Ernie Royal, Johnny Coles, Stu Williamson , Bernie Glow, Jimmy Nottingham (trumpet); Joe Shepley, Burt Collins (flugelhorn); Tony Miranda, James Buffington, Earl Chapin, Ray Alonge (French horn); Mickey Gravine, Kai Winding, Urbie Green, Warren Covington, Wayne Andre (trombone); Tony Studd (bass trombone); Bob Brookmeyer (valve trombone); John Barber (tuba); Benny Aronov (piano, harpsichord, keyboards); Walter Wanderley (piano, organ); Gil Evans, Joao Donato, Warren Bernhardt (piano); Stan Free, Paul Griffin , Frank Owens (keyboards); Gary Burton , George Devens (vibraphone); Bobby Rosengarden (drums, percussion); Frankie Callen, Bill Lavorgna, Al Rogers, Grady Tate, Gene Maharrey, H?lcio Milito, Claudio Slon , Milton Banana, Ron Dante (drums); Jack Jennings, Robert Gregg, Alan Douglas, Airto Moreira (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Recording information: A&R Studios, New York, NY (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); Century Sound Recording Studios, New York, NY (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); Los Angeles, CA (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); New York, NY (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); RCA Studios, Hollywood, CA (03/18/1963-12/17/1969).
Illustrator: Gary Kelley.
Photographer: Chuck Stewart.
Arrangers: Deodato; Don Sebesky; Albert Gorgoni Orchestra; Gil Evans; Marty Paich.
Astrud Gilberto, the Brazilian canary with the voice like honey and diction that defied belief, has been compiled many times on Verve, but rarely as well as on her entry in 2003's The Diva Series. A 21-track of her prime decade, the '60s, this one includes all of the classics associated with her: "The Girl From Ipanema," "Agua de Beber," "Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars)," "So Nice (Summer Samba)," and "Dindi." Not all of her LPs have been reissued on CD (in the States), so the compilers also added tracks that may surprise a few Gilberto fans, like "Eu e Voce" and "Canto de Ossanha (Let Go)." ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 8 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Astrud Gilberto

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 47,042
  • UPC: 044006521428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: