Ella Fitzgerald At Newport (Live)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
9 ratings
List Price: $11.98
SALE PRICE: $10.78
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  VRV 000952302

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Verve


  • 1.I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
  • 2.Body and Soul
  • 3.Too Close For Comfort - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 4.Lullaby of Birdland - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 5.I've Got a Crush on You
  • 6.I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 7.April in Paris
  • 8.Air Mail Special
  • 9.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 10.Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • 11.Willow, Weep For Me
  • 12.My Man
  • 13.Lover, Come Back to Me
  • 14.Lady Sings the Blues
  • 15.What a Little Moonlight Can Do
  • 16.I'll Remember April - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 17.Body and Soul - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 18.Skyliner - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 19.Introduction to Midnight Sun - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 20.Midnight Sun - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 21.Love Is Here to Stay - (previously unreleased, bonus track)
  • 22.Perdido - (previously unreleased, bonus track)

Product Description:

/Billie Holiday/Carmen McRae.
Producers include: George Wein, Norman Granz.
Reissue producer: Bryan Koniarz.
Includes liner notes by William Ruhlmann.
Digitally remastered using 24-Bit technology by Kevin Reeves (Universal Music Studios-East).
This is part of the Verve Records Master Edition series.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Don Abney (piano); Wendell Marshall (bass); Jo Jones (drums).
Recorded live at the Newport Jazz Festival, Freebody Park, Newport, Rhode Island on July 4, 1957.
Personnel: Billie Holiday (vocals); Mal Waldron (piano); Joe Benjamin (bass); Jo Jones (drums).
Recorded live at the Newport Jazz Festival, Freebody Park, Newport, Rhode Island on July 6, 1957.
Personnel: Carmen McRae (vocals, piano); Ray Bryant, Junior Mance (piano); Ike Isaacs (bass); Jimmy Cobb, Specs Wright (drums).
Recorded live at the Newport Jazz Festival, Newport, Rhide Island on July 5, 1957.
Personnel: Ella Fitzgerald (vocals); Billie Holiday (vocals); Carmen McRae (vocals, piano); Don Abney, Junior Mance, Mal Waldron, Ray Bryant (piano); Ike Isaacs , Joe Benjamin, Wendell Marshall (bass instrument); Jimmy Cobb , Jo Jones (drum).
Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday at Newport presents the naturally intriguing results when Verve paired two sets recorded two days apart (over the 4th of July weekend, 1957) by the two best female singers of the 20th century. Unfortunately, circumstances weren't in their favor, as the combined factors of an unsympathetic band (for Fitzgerald) and shaky health (for Holiday) make these sets just a step below the expected level of greatness. It's unclear how much time Fitzgerald had spent with her trio, though she makes her unhappiness known while trying to jump-start them to a quicker tempo on "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter" and "April in Paris." Finally, she gets the band in line, delivering crowd-pleasing renditions of "Lullaby of Birdland" and the terrific scat piece "Air Mail Special," which must have set the park on fire. Holiday, though she would live for two more years, sounds as though she's on death's doorstep, croaking her standards "Willow Weep for Me," "My Man," "Lady Sings the Blues," and "What a Little Moonlight Can Do." Of course, any Billie Holiday appearance is worth hearing, and she brings her world-weary voice to task on the showpiece "Lady Sings the Blues." Though it's far from a perfect set for both singers, At Newport says more about their respective careers than any great show could. [For a special 2000 reissue of Ella Fitzgerald & Billie Holiday at Newport, Verve added six songs from Carmen McRae's set at Newport. As with Fitzgerald and Holiday, McRae also had problems with her set -- the absence of her usual backing trio forced her to begin her performance with an unfamiliar band. Still, it's an excellent, powerful showcase for McRae's voice on highlights like "I'll Remember April" and "Love Is Here to Stay." Also, a 50th anniversary edition of the show appeared in 2007, with a very similar track listing (except it actually featured one less track).] ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Ella Fitzgerald

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 42,027
  • UPC: 602517416062
  • Shipping Weight: 0.15/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Vocals genre:

Top ranking CD: