Frances Black The Best of Frances Black

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.0
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  KOC 4412

CD Details

  • Released: September 25, 2007
  • Label: Koch Records


  • 1.You Will Miss Me
  • 2.On Grafton Street
  • 3.Send Him a Letter
  • 4.Talk to Me
  • 5.When You Say Nothing at All
  • 6.Don't Be a Stranger
  • 7.All the Lies That You Told Me
  • 8.Jimmy Mo Mh°le StĘr
  • 9.Love Me
  • 10.That's How You Know It's Love
  • 11.The Sky Road
  • 12.Everybody Loves a Lover
  • 13.Wall of Tears
  • 14.Fear Is the Enemy
  • 15.Once You Said You Loved Me
  • 16.After the Ball
  • 17.Legal Illegal - (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Frances Black (vocals); Frances Black; Kieran Goss (vocals, guitar); Declan Sinnott , Nicholas Quemener (guitar); Nicholas Quemener (guitars); Graham Henderson (bouzouki, piano, keyboards, background vocals); Patsy Broderick (piano, keyboards); Patsy Broderick Moyles (keyboards); Garvin Gallagher (bass guitar); Lynn Kavanagh, Nanci Griffith, Mary Green (background vocals); Mary Black (vocals, background vocals); Arty McGlynn (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Ted Ponsonby (guitar, background vocals); Nollaig Casey (violin, viola); Rod McVey (piano, keyboards); James Blennerhassett (double bass, electric bass, background vocals); Roy Dodds (drums, percussion); Liam Bradley (drums, background vocals); Mark Pitcham, Dave Early, Noel Bridgeman (drums); Johnny McDonagh (percussion); Aoife Scott, Eoghan Scott (background vocals).
Additional personnel: Keiran Goss (guitars); Kieran Goss.
Audio Remasterer: Robyn Robins.
Photographers: Barry McCall; Conor Horgan.
Arrangers: P.J. Curtis; Declan Sinnott .
Frances Black has a career made up from various shards of the Celtic music boom from the early '90s. Being the youngest member of the ever musical Black Family (right, Mary Black is her older sister) she began her recording career with Kieran Goss is 1994. The sound was decidedly more pop oriented without losing the uniquely Irish touches that this sound is rooted in. The music she makes is tender, sometimes melancholy, and yet her voice, walking a line between her sister's combined with the timbre of Nanci Griffith's (whose "On Grafton Street" is here with the writer on harmony vocals), is expressive of emotions behind or perhaps beyond the lyrics of the songs she chooses to sing. Tammy Rogers "You Will Miss Me" is a high point as well for its melancholy expression, which nonetheless holds acceptance as its M.O. This collection is packed. There are 16 cuts taken from her first six solo records, and a bonus in a reading of the great Ewan MacColl's "Legal Illegal." Black has a very fine understanding of material and places songs that are uniquely suited to her delivery. She understates everything and therefore the song has to be subtle as well. It's true, her work is not for everybody (especially traditionalists), but she never tried to make it so. This is Celtic pop of the first order, and this set it a righteous summation of her early career. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Frances Black

Product Info:

  • UPC: 099923441229
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item