Olivia Newton-John Making A Good Thing Better (Remastered)

Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  PID 478532
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: October 5, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1977


  • 1.Making a Good Thing Better
  • 2.Slow Dancing
  • 3.Ring of Fire
  • 4.Coolin' Down
  • 5.Don't Cry For Me Argentina
  • 6.Sad Songs
  • 7.You Won't See Me Cry
  • 8.So Easy to Begin
  • 9.I Think I'll Say Goodbye
  • 10.Don't Ask a Friend
  • 11.If Love Is Real

Product Description:

Personnel: Olivia Newton-John (vocals); Jay Graydon (acoustic & electric guitars); John Farrar (electric & slide guitar, background vocals); Jay Graydon (electric & slide guitars); Doug Livingston, Sneaky Pete (steel guitar); Byron Berline (fiddle, mandolin); George Marge (oboe, ocarina); Tommy Morgan (harmonica); James Newton-Howard (piano, harpsichord); Greg Mathieson (piano, clavinet, harpsichord); Randy Edelman (harmonium); Lee Sklar (bass); Jeff Porcaro (drums, percussion); Joe Porcaro (percussion); Myrna Matthews, Laura Creamer, Julia Rinker, Marti McCall, Pattie Brooks (background vocals).
Engineers: Bill Schnee, Armin Steiner, Linda Tyler, Tom Bush.
Newton-John has actually made a good thing blander on her 1977 release, in which she milks her tender innocence and soft vocals until all that is left is a drought-driven yearning for substance. She would later learn the rules of rock on Grease and Physical, but here she makes you suffer through an array of drippy ballads and folk music. "Don't Cry for Me Argentina" has been turned from soaring death-bed proclamation to bone-thin ballad. It is rare that a musical artist of Newton-John's stature would turn out an album that is completely bad, and indeed there are still some songs that make a showcase for her. Johnny Cash admirers will probably cringe at her version of "Ring of Fire," but it is great fun. "I Think I'll Say Goodbye" is upbeat country-pop in tradition of her hit "If You Love Me Let Me Know." Newton-John, whose voice is overtly feminine, works best with songs that are raw and untamed. It does not mean she should keep away from ballads, but on this selection of monotonously low-key ballads, she would at least benefit from less whimpering. ~ Peter Fawthrop
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Olivia Newton-John

Product Info:

  • UPC: 9399602104027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item